84777181

Post #1
So this is my first post on this thing. This is about the fifth time I’ve tried making one of these because my computer at home is stupid, so I’m going to start blogging from the computer in study hall at school…

Well, I’m your semi-run-of-the-mill high school student, and I want to be an English or performing arts teacher when I get out of college (hence the web address). I’m here at a private Christian school out on the Texas Gulf Coast that I’ve been attending for six years (or is it seven now? I’ve lost track). It has its share of quirks (uniforms, strictness, chapel, the whole nine yards), but I’ve gotten used to it by now. I took a hint from Philip Yancey (great author, btw) and decided to start treat it like its own subculture with its own rules and such. If you look at it that way, it keeps you from going completely insane sometimes.

Come to think of it, it’s kind of how I treat the Christian subculture sometimes. Not to say that Christianity isn’t great, Christianity is awesome. It’s the coolest thing ever. It’s why I get up every morning. It’s why I’m still alive (but that’s for another post). But the way we in America treat it, it gets a little ridiculous. At times it seems like we’ve turned it into a mockery of what it’s really all about. God didn’t create a sacred and a secular world. He created the world, and He is to cover everything and anything in our lives, whatever it is. My parents’ generation turned life into such a dichotomy and it’s been passed on to the generations following. There’s always hope, though; I see people breaking out of it every day. (Everyone check out Relevant Magazine and the book Roaring Lambs by Bob Briner for more of what I’m talking about.

Well, I’ll be back periodically to talk about my life and such…keep your eyes peeled.

*manders the chick*

One thought on “84777181

Leave a Reply

