85255654

Post #4: Some poetry.
I’m not exactly Dickinson, but I hope you guys like this anyway. I wrote this in my paper/hard copy journal a few months back; it just sort of spilled out my brain somehow. It’s called “paper and glue” and it’s written from the perspective of a recent divorcee. Not that my parents are divorced, or that I’ve ever been divorced (I would certainly hope not!), but I have some friends whose parents are, and so this is for them.

So you took your heart back fro me,
Took back your soul that I’d taken into mine,
Rendered the one into two.
And I guess I did the same to you,
Over specks of dust we made into universes
And dared to call them
“irreconcilable differences.”
It was the way you’d stay out late,
How I kept tearing you apart with my words for it,
How you’d retaliate with your own.
It was a verbal catfight that left us both bleeding,
And if I could go back I’d find a way
To heal the wounds we made in each other.

But what’s done is done,
Irreversible like death,
So you have your life and I have mine…
Unless I’ve got yours and you’ve got mine,
In which case it doesn’t really matter anymore,
Because though we abandoned each other
For love of self,
We took part of each other with us.

“Mea culpa, mea maxima culpa…”

So now our kids will scream that
Today’s our holiday,
But in the aftermath
I find that my world’s falling gently apart…
Has yours, dear?
So I guess this is goodbye,
With no chance we can still be friends…

And on that happy note, here’s the…
*LiNk oF tHe DaY*: an ounce of hope. This is actually written by a recent divorcee. Quite insightful.

Leave a Reply

