86949977

Post #28: [insert title here b/c I can’t think of a good one today]

Just wanted to give a shout-out to all my peeps in the hood (lol, I can’t believe I just said that)…

Went to Ryan’s birthday party today. Had a lot of fun, saw most of my classmates, except four of them (and you know who you are…). I also discovered how much I’m lacking in the “bowling skills” department. Oh, well, if you never get out to do something, you probably won’t be that good at it.

Speaking of birthdays, mine’s in 10 days, so I’m pondering ideas for a party. It’s looking like the party date might be the 20th b/c it’s Martin Luther King Day and everyone’ll probably be out (yay for racial diversity in America), so unless something random happens it’ll probably be then. Yay for parties.

* * * * * *
I just found this in one of my notebooks…

I believe we’re all looking for something more transcendental, something that’s beyond us. This world is not our home, not really. We were created for something higher, purer, something more real than this world that we encounter with our senses and emotions. There’s something more.

Yet so often in the church, it seems that we are so stuck in this world. Go to a church service and look around. This is not to say that we ought to all become hermits, go off and try to totally separate ourselves from the world around us. What I’m saying that Christ is waiting for the church to connect with His heart, and it’s not necessarily going to happen in church, or some retreat, or on any of those wonderful “spiritual” things that the church promotes and tells you will get you closer to God. Gag. Don’t get me wrong, there’s a place for those. Those are all fine and good. But I’m a member of a generation that’s looking for more than cliches, more than worship in a can, more than five songs and a sermon. We want to know the truth and the supernatural, and I don’t believe we have to wait for a church service or event to do so.

So take a look around. If we truly believe that God is omnipresent, then shouldn’t it be obvious that He has made Himself available to us anywhere, at any time throughout the day? At Starbucks. In class. In traffic. Dancing at homecoming. Eating lunch. Writing an English paper. Everywhere. There’s traces of the supernatural everywhere. Not in some “new agey” sort of way, but God is with us everywhere we turn. “Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence” (Psalm 139:7). He is with us. No wonder we call Him “Emmanuel.”

Columnist Winn Collier, on relevantmagazine.com, has an article entitled “All Day.” In it, he writes that in every single part of the day, “the name of the Lord is to be praised.” Can we take that into consideration? God is bigger and deeper and more intimate than we make Him out to be. So let us “seek the Lord while he may be found, and call on him while he is near” (Isaiah 55:6). He is near. Seek Him. He is seeking you.

* * * * * *
I am convinced that the medical field is corrupted. Granted, there are great doctors out there, and I’ve had some. My mom’s doctors, on the other hand, are not some of them. They can’t (or won’t) do anything to help her out with her health problems or anything. It’s sooooo frustrating, and to tell you the truth I’m tempted to call them up and give them a piece of my mind–the piece that has a lot of things that aren’t exactly, uh, proper…but I’m not going to, obviously. My parents are looking for some new doctors anyway.

And it’s not just my family, I’m sure there are a lot of other people who have similar complaints.

Leave a Reply

