87036644

#30: Boredom and Christian propaganda

I’m seriously bored. I’m about to go nuts. I need to get a car so I can at least get a change of scenery or something…oh, well, I only have to wait until next Tuesday before I can drive legally. I’m so bored, in fact, that I’m here (lol).

We went back to school today and had “chapel.” This group called “Commandos USA” came in, and WOW. That was the finest piece of Christian humanist propaganda I think I have ever heard. “You need to have focus in your life! You can change the world! Use your talents and do what you love–using Christian principles, of course.” My gosh. Give me a break. Sure, it’s good to make plans and have discipline, but the entire time the guy was talking (when he wasn’t rolling up a frying pan or breaking a baseball bat), I kept thinking about this verse in James: “Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while, and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, ‘If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that'” (James 4:14-15). My life and fulfillment aren’t going to come from my job or what I’m doing with my life. God has already given me a purpose, thank you very much, and I’m only going to do what He wants with me–which is infinitely more awesome than anything I can come up with. Someone once told me that good things are the biggest enemies of the best things, and I want to keep that in mind.

It really frustrates me sometimes, the way the church is in America. It’s like we’re trying to sell something now–and we *will* sell thirty thousand copies of it at Lifeway. The glorious God and the sacrifice of the cross and the work of the Holy Spirit is reduced to a nice little formula and somehow we make it so ethnocentric that the gospel is all but lost. No, no, no, we’ve got people praying for God to bless them and expand their stock portfolios, when we have already received every spiritual blessing in Christ. And then we have the audacity to sing something like, “It’s all about You, Jesus…” Give me a break.

Sorry, there’s my rant for the day.

Leave a Reply

