88132950

Post #46: Some spiffy quotes from various places

“Life is a dance toward God. And the dance is not so graceful as we might think. For while we glide and swing our practiced sway, God crowds our feet, bumps our toes, and scuffs our shoes. He lowers his head, whispers soft and confident, ‘You will dance to the beat of “Amazing Grace” or you will not dance at all.’ So we learn to dance with the One who made us. And it is a taxing dance to learn. But once we learn, don’t we glide. And don’t we sway. And don’t we bury our head in His chest. And don’t we love to dance.” (Donald Miller, Prayer and the Art of Volkswagen Maintenance)

“My Lord God, I have no idea where I am going. I do not see the road ahead of me. I cannot know for certain where it will end. Nor do I really know myself, and the fact that I think I am following your will does not mean that I am actually doing so. But I believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you. And I hope I have that desire in all that I am doing. I hope that I will never do anything apart from that desire. And I know that if I do this you will lead me by the right road though I may know nothing about it. Therefore will I trust you always, though I may seem to be lost and in the shadow of death. I will not fear, for you are ever with me, and you will never leave me to face my perils alone.” (Thomas Merton, “Thoughts in Solitude”)

“I don’t think adventure is ever the enemy of relationships. The bigger threat is boredom and routine.” (Bono)

“God doesn’t know us by our labels, He knows each of us by name.” (Kevin Max)

�I cried when I was born and every day shows why.� (George Herbert)

�Why is it called �Going to sleep?� You�re not going anywhere. You�re just falling asleep. Of course, falling doesn�t make that much sense either. Goodness, what a silly language we have here. Someone ought to complain. Write your congressman. It�s late. Good night.� (Zach Arrington)

And Jesus said unto them, “And whom do you say that I am?” They replied, “You are the eschatological manifestation of the ground of our being, the ontological foundation of the context of our very selfhood revealed.” And Jesus replied, “What?” (anonymous)

Leave a Reply

