88569102

Post #54: “I don’t know You, but I love You anyway…”

Currently listening to: “Falling Down” by Bebo Norman

I have come to the conclusion that I have a very boring life. Nothing exciting happens; when it does happen, it’s usually pretty quick and shortlived. And so I have nothing better to do than go to school and church and sit here in front of the computer. What a slow, boring existence I have. I won’t say that it’s meaningless, it’s just very monotonous.

* * * * * *
There’s this tendency of mine to be incredibly self-righteous and judgmental. I tend to think less of others who aren’t as “spiritually in tune” as I am. I’m such a plankeye. Just when I think I’m doing OK spiritually, God has to smack me upside the head and say, “Hey, your ego is swelling.” Which is the cool thing about God–He has the decency to tell you when you’re screwing up, but He’ll also help you fix it if you let Him. Anyway, yeah, I could use some prayer for humility. That would be really helpful. At least God’s not through with me yet–or with any of us. 🙂
* * * * * *
Steph got an idea from the 1000 journals project site (there’s a link over there to the left). If enough people get interested, she’s going to go buy a journal and send it around, and whoever gets it can draw in it, write in it–whatever. Sounds like fun. It could turn out some really cool results.

* * * * * *
Here’s a question: Why don’t we keep the Sabbath? I ask this because everyone’s always like, “Keep the Ten Commandments and you’ll be fine.” No one even mentions the one about keeping the Sabbath day holy to the Lord, though. I think it might be a good idea, though–take a day or so off every once in a while to rest from what you’re doing and dwell on God. Besides, there’s nothing really in the New Testament that outright says it’s done away with–there’s still that concept of “the Lord’s Day.” So that’s my challenge: Try to take some time off, even if it’s just for a day or even part of a day, to rest and hang out with God.

Leave a Reply

