88768420

Post #56: The Patriot and books I think are good

I was watching The Patriot last night for the first time (yeah, I don’t get out much…) and I was thinking how much sacrifice this country was built on…how many guys would leave their homes and families and everything for a cause like that today? There are plenty of guys in the military and everything, but men who had jobs and wives and kids totally left it all behind to go live in the wilderness and fight for their freedom. I commend the men and women in our armed services. They’ve chosen that life. What about those who haven’t chosen a military career, though?

Remember that scene in the church when Heath Ledger’s asking the men to join the militia, and all those men stand up to enlist? If you walked into a church today and did something like that, how many of the people would do the same? It makes me wonder sometimes.

* * * * * *
For all the people in my Bible class, Mrs. Holzman referred to something called “wussification.” I used that term in one of my journals for her, and the article it alludes to is this one right here.Prayer and the Art of Volkswagen Maintenance by Donald Miller
Hamlet by William Shakespeare
Pilgrim at Tinker Creek by Annie Dillard
The Writing Life by Annie Dillard
Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke
The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
The Jesus I Never Knew by Philip Yancey
Out of the Silent Planet by C.S. Lewis
Our Town by Thornton Wilder
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
God’s Words by J.I. Packer
Roaring Lambs by Bob Briner
The Weeping Chamber by Sigmund Brouwer
The Visitation by Frank Peretti
The Book of God by Walter Wangerin, Jr.
The Testament by John Grisham

Leave a Reply

