gloria in te, Domine…

(starting music: Marvin Gaye – Ain’t No Mountain High Enough)

1. ^ That song always makes me think of Remember the Titans…man, I haven’t seen that movie in a few years. I need to watch it again.

2. Two of my papers are now in proofreading stage. I’m feeling extremely gratified right now–I think as someone who has churned a lot of text in my lifetime, finishing a project may be one of the most satisfying things I can do. Editing and revision makes me feel all warm inside. 🙂 Nerdy? Yeah. But that’s okay.

3. Speaking of writing, I totally fell off the NaNoWriMo wagon about three days into it. I’m awesome. I’ve seen a couple of fun spin-offs all over the web: National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo), and Defective Yeti is doing National Novel Reading Month (he’s tackling Moby Dick–he’s a brave, brave man). I think I may have to try those next year instead, haha.

4. I’ve been reading Marilynne Robinson’s Housekeeping, which is fantastic (at the end I think I may write up a review for Writers Read)–it’s got me thinking about this whole concept of home, and how it’s meant to be a safehaven. The characters in the book ironically never get this real sense of having a place to belong. They have a physical space to live in, of course, but it’s not the same as having an emotional and mental refuge, a place where you feel like you’re completely accepted, you know?

And that got me thinking: This world isn’t our real home. Ultimately, we’ll never be really at rest here; we can never really feel settled. I think, though, that’s a reason to make our homes places that foreshadow our final home–places where people feel accepted and safe and cared for. That’s why hospitality is important; that’s why our families are so important; that’s why living in community is so important. So, yeah. Cultivate a good domestic life; it’s a good spiritual practice. Or something. 🙂

5. Of course, as I say that I’m sitting in a pile of junk on my floor. So take all of the above with a grain of salt. :p

(ending music : U2 – Stay (Faraway, So Close!))

2 thoughts on “gloria in te, Domine…

Leave a Reply

