a couple of lists, because I’m tired of studying.

Things I’d like to write papers on, in my free time, just because I’m that big of a nerd:

1. The new surge of domesticity/craft/whatever, how it’s been affected by postmodern and feminist sensibilities, how it’s a spiritual activity, a Reformed theology of the household (which I do think is possible to piece together, it’s just that no one who’s a theological conservative has really written anything on it that I’m aware of), how this is portrayed in postmodern literature. This may have to become a thesis-length thing.

2. A study on the mouth in Quentin Tarantino’s Pulp Fiction.

3. The backwards-Biblical narrative in Andrew Marvell’s “Upon Appleton House, to my Lord Fairfax”.

4. Finding a proper Christian response to globalization and the grand exchange of ideas.

5. Different historical Christian views of feasting and fasting and how it’s changed through the years, how it’s affected by different theological stances, etc.

6. The narrative structure of liturgy.

7. Why we don’t see a whole lot of well-known female playwrights (think about it–how many can you think of off the top of your head, as opposed to male dramatists, or women writers in other genres? It’s kind of strange).

8. I’ve already written on this once, but I need to refine it: The liturgical structure of Sir Gawain and the Green Knight.

Stuff that, while not absolutely necessary, I wouldn’t mind someone randomly giving me:

1. A car.

2. Tickets to Europe, or New York, or Australia. Anywhere that’s not war-torn or Waco.

3. New pajama pants.

4. As mentioned a few posts back, a copy of The Valley of Vision.

5. One last semester’s worth of tuition money.

6. A Powerbook.

7.  A digital camera.

8. The new Decemberists album (no, I still haven’t gotten it–*pout*).

9. A free ride to seminary and/or film school.

10. A guaranteed A on each of my finals today.

Leave a Reply

