last post of the year.

It’s December 30. I probably won’t have time to post tomorrow, so here it is.

No book list this year. It got eaten in the blog move and I haven’t kept track of it since. Something like sixty-five or seventy, which is even more ridiculous than last year, but I read short books, so I don’t know if it really counts. So, yeah, Dave, I guess you win this year. 🙂 Next year I’m going to go through 100 just to spite you. (Yeah, right!)

* * * *

It’s been a really weird year. Not good weird or bad weird, necessarily, just weird. Ever felt like God’s playing Jenga with your life? Taking out pieces just to watch you crumble–except He builds you back up again, just to start the process over. Well, it’s been like that for me, I suppose. Quite a few moments of falling down, a mess, after He’s been pulling away people and things and my own pride and ideas from my life. And this is not a bad thing. That’s what I’ve been trying to learn.

The beautiful thing is that for everything He’s taken away, He’s given me a lot more. Some people fade out; some people come in. I lost people I thought I could trust, people I thought I’d stay in touch with forever, people who just sort of parted ways with me (those categories don’t overlap, by the way); I lost my own sense of pretention, my pride, my sense of self-satisfaction; I gained so many new friends and experiences and good memories this year that it more than makes up for it. I just don’t always recognize the gift when it’s given, or the Giver of the gift.

2007 should be a good year. Let’s hope.

One thought on “last post of the year.

  1. Driving home yesterday, I was struck with a sudden sense of hope. God is good, and He has been immeasurably faithful. Yes, it is going to be a good year, if for no other reason than Immanuel.

    By the way, my book list (to be posted later) is only in the low 40’s (that’s good for me). So I’ll go ahead and concede now on good faith that you are a bigger nerd than I am. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

