Posting! Right!

1. I keep forgetting to post. Lo siento mucho.

2. So, I’ve been thinking about it lately, and I’ve realized that most of my Christianity is spent trying to make it cool and hip and not ridiculous instead of being unashamed of the gospel, i.e. I want to be seen as a Mark Driscoll/Sufjan Stevens* Christian instead of, say, a Pat Robertson Christian. I mean, I can do it in the name of good doctrine and being “missional”, but when it really comes down to it I want to be seen as cool by non-Christians. Which is stupid, not to mention idolatrous.

(*Don’t get me wrong–I think Mark and Sufjan are doing it right, and for the right reasons. I, on the other hand, just want to not offend anyone. I don’t declare the gospel in my wanna-be coolness. Neither am I saying that Pat is always entirely wrong; he’s made some big mistakes, but he at least has convictions about things.)

3. Also: I feel as though the past several years have been crazy in that the more I learn about Jesus, the bigger my sin gets in my eyes, which is terrible, but more than made up for in the fact that He gets bigger, too. Which is lovely.

4. Finally, this is just funny:

2 thoughts on “Posting! Right!

  1. i’m struggling with #3. i’m not letting Jesus be bigger as my sin increases. He’s faithful, though, and i’m struggling onward.

    also…hooray for australian television!

Leave a Reply

