“i get my laundry done, and i get homecooked meals…”

1. The post title reference is from “Stupid Kid” from Caedmon’s Call’s self-titled album–great, great album. If you don’t have it, and if you like acoustic rock and sharp lyrics (also very theologically sound ones), check it out.

2. So I’m home. This is always an interesting experience for me. Hopefully I won’t gain weight or spend too much money or offend the parental units too much. 🙂 (Don’t get me wrong, I get along with my parents just fine most of the time. We are, however, prone to have differing views on a plethora of things, and, well, you know how it is. Pray that I would show love and not argument.)

3. You know that hymn “How Firm a Foundation”? We sang it last Sunday at Redeemer and I’d never really looked at the lyrics before, but this line just killed me:

When through the deep waters I call thee to go,
The rivers of woe shall not thee overflow;
For I will be with thee, thy troubles to bless,
And sanctify to thee thy deepest distress.

He sanctifies our deepest distress. He makes it His; He makes it holy. That kind of blows up all our categories, doesn’t it?

4. If you haven’t been to Pei Wei, and there’s one near you: Go. It’s amazing.

5. This is shorter than I intended–I thought I had more to say than I do. Shout-out to Dr. Cunningham, who’s coming to Baylor in the fall. Have a good afternoon, folks.

Leave a Reply

