t13.

this week: 13 songs that explain you–songs that you would put on an introductory mix tape for a new friend or significant other. Explanations or appropriate quotations are optional.

1. Feist – Mushaboom
2. Patty Griffin – Love Throws a Line
3. Ben Folds – Not the Same (live)
4. The Decemberists – Sons and Daughters (“Here all the bombs fade away…”)
5. Steve Burns – What I Do On Saturday (“I’m just a boring example of everybody else…”)
6. Rent Cast – Halloween
7. U2 – One
8. Caedmon’s Call – Stupid Kid (“Would you love me just as much/If I never got a job/If I never left your house…”)
9. Simon & Garfunkel – America
10. The Normals – I’ll Be Home Soon
11. Coldplay – Amsterdam
12. Sufjan Stevens – Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing
13. Blind Boys of Alabama – Demons

One thought on “t13.

  1. hannah says:

    1. Tom Petty – American Girl
    2. Vigilantes of Love – Earth Has No Sorrow
    3. Aimee Wilson – Timbers Fall (she used to lead worship at my church in Chattanooga — great folk music, and a great song)
    4. Sham Rock – Tell Me Ma (this would have to come with some liner notes, explaining the tie-in with my high school)
    5. Idina Menzel – The Wizard and I (more liner notes: my love affair with the theater, my trip to NY where I got to see her sing this)
    6. Eastmountainsouth – Hard Times (easily the most-played song on my iPod)
    7. Patty Griffin – When It Don’t Come Easy
    8. “It Is Well With My Soul” (by…someone with a lovely voice. :))
    9. Feist – Mushaboom (hey me too!)
    10. original Broadway cast of “You’re a Good Man Charlie Brown” – Happiness
    11. Derek Webb – Wedding Dress
    12. Ray LaMontagne – Hannah (JUST KIDDING…pretty sure this is a song about a whore)
    12.5. Arcade Fire – Windowsill
    13. ABBA – S.O.S. (because doesn’t every mix tape need a little ABBA?)

    There you go; for better or for worse, I think that’s pretty much me right now. I know I’ll think of others later and kick myself.

Leave a Reply

