sabbath musings

1. I’ve been going through 1 and 2 Peter (some more of those books I’ve never really heard preached about…), and as a result I have to ask: Why, in America, are we so surprised when people bash Christianity? Why do we get so offended? Jesus guaranteed us that as Christians we would always be hated by the world; in his letters, Peter’s writing to Christians that expected death or discrimination all the time (much like our brothers and sisters in many other nations). Scripture assumes that unbelievers are always going to come after us.

I think that sometimes we get angry for the wrong reasons–our rights are being violated! We’re being discriminated against! Well and good, and I do believe we should seek justice where possible, but not angrily, not selfishly; we have to do so with the end game of the glory of Christ. Apologetics, reasoned argument, and intelligent discourse are all necessary, and so are gentleness and respect.

2. I found this article the other day–if you don’t want to switch pages, it’s about the Sikh tradition of providing a free meal at the temples to anyone who wants one, regardless of religion, social class, or race. It’s funded by donations from the community. Interesting stuff.

3. Since I’ve been back at Target, my intense dislike for consumerism is back. 🙂 I mean, really, do we need to spend $20 on a dog sweater? (Then again, I say this as someone who will buy a $20 CD in a heartbeat, so I’m sort of preaching to the choir here. Christ, have mercy on us.)

4. It’s been interesting, pondering how to live the gospel these days–a great deal of which involves contentment, which I’m not very good at. I know I’m always going to be where God wants me, for whatever reason He has up His sleeve, and the trick is to learn how to be His wherever that is. I think we could all use some prayer there, right? 🙂

One thought on “sabbath musings

  1. 1. Couple those ideas with the section of the Sermon on the Mount where Jesus says that we must be willing to abandon our “rights” for His sake, to walk extra miles and surrender our tunics. I wonder if we can only really justify our fight for “justice” when it’s on behalf of those who are helpless, rather than for those of us who are well-fed and warm.

    2. How is it that other faiths have so clearly figured out how to feed and care for the poor, and so much of the Western Christian Church is still hung up on prerequisite benchmarks of “personal responsibility”? Is this “Just pull yourself up by your bootstraps” philosophy more a product of American individualism or Biblical theology? Not to say that the Bible doesn’t command self-reliance, because it clearly does. But it’s almost a form of James’ “favoritism,” in that we show honor or acknowledgement to the poor that we think “try hard enough” but we withhold acceptance and love from the poor that we don’t think “deserve” it. Does Christ love the drunk and addicted bum any less than the “hard worker” who’s fallen on bad times?

    3. “Simplify.” That’s the hardest word in my lexicon right now.

    4. Amen, sister.

Leave a Reply

