thursday 13

This week: 13 of your favorite sensory experiences.

1. Having my hair stroked for a while–I normally don’t like people touching my head for some reason, but if I’m having a bad day and someone comes along and strokes my hair, it’s one of the most comforting things ever. I honestly can’t explain this.

2. Congregational singing, no matter where I am. This is part of the reason I don’t like big, big sound systems in church anymore–it drowns out the people singing.

3. Sunsets in central Texas, in the country. No skyscrapers in the way, just the green fields and the huge sky, all orange and red and purple. (I’m sure the sunrises are equally lovely, but I was never awake enough to see them. 🙂 )

4. Driving through the mountains, which I’ve only done once, but it’s fun.

5. Being on the beach, by the ocean (and I mean real ocean, not the oil field in Galveston), with a friend, watching the sunset.

6. Candlelight services.

7. Being in the middle of a choir, in a building with excellent acoustics. It’s different from being in the audience watching them, both sonically and experientially, since your own voice is in the mix, and you have a more intimate experience with the overall sound.

8. The smell of bookstores or libraries. Paper and ink.

9. My friends, when they’re laughing uncontrollably, make one of the greatest sounds, like, ever.

10. Seeing the look on the guy’s face when his bride is walking down the aisle. Amazing. (During my own wedding I’m probably either going to cry or get weak in the knees when that happens.)

11. Driving with the windows rolled down, music going, on a late summer evening.

12. Being snuggled under a lot of blankets when it’s cold outside.

13. Holding hands with other people while praying.

Leave a Reply

