all things grow, all things grow

(starting music: Sufjan Stevens covering The Innocence Mission’s “The Lakes of Canada”, which is as lovely as it sounds)

1. Am I alone in wanting Sufjan to one day do a Bob Dylan cover? If he ever were to do that, I could die a happy woman. My vote is for “Gates of Eden”, personally, just because it’s epic enough sonically and bizarre enough lyrically that Sufjan could do it justice.

2. Actually, other recordings I want to hear:

-Derek Webb doing a U2 cover (well, which he has, since Caedmon’s used to cover “In God’s Country” and he’d sing lead, but…I want to hear what he’d do with one of their anti-war diatribes)

-This is a little strange, but part of me wants Rufus Wainwright to get saved so he’ll do a hymns compilation. I don’t know if this’ll ever happen, but it’s a fun thought.

3. Those of you who are more theologically studied than I am, I have a question: What’s the proper place of tradition in Reformed theology? And, if we know that because Reformed tradition tells us so, why is it right? (I’m not looking to ditch my Reformedness any time soon; I just want to know. I should read up on this more myself…)

4. I actually should look more into apologetics, too, both for purposes of evangelism and for bolstering my own faith. Really.

5. This is an odd post, isn’t it? I should probably go to sleep now…

6. Is anyone else utterly horrified/amused that R. Kelly is coming out with more installments of “Trapped in the Closet”? (You know, a few months back, Alamo Draft House in Austin had a singalong to this one night. I very nearly went.)

10 thoughts on “all things grow, all things grow

  1. rufus can help save you, if you’ll only pay attention. “Better pray for your sins, cause the Gay Messiah’s coming.”

  2. I, too, have thought that DW should cover a U2 song. That would be, like, awesome. And Rufus covered “Hallelujah”, which could get you saved, but Jeff Buckley’s version puts all others to shame.

    I would say that in terms of authority, tradition ranks in between Scripture and experience.

    I’ve found that most people who are interested in apologetics from an academic perspective usually have very little contact with unbelievers, whereas those Christians who have regular contact with unbelievers could benefit greatly from an academic study of apologetics. I don’t know why it works that way. Personally, I think I’m in between these two groups, so I don’t spend much time with either. *shrug*

    Since I’ve already written more than I intended to, I’ll add that I listened to the iTunes preview of The Frames – Fitzcarraldo and thought it excellent. Now I’m trying to decide if it’s time to spend another $0.99 or burn out on the Red Mountain and Decemberists stuff I’ve recently purchased first.

  3. Jane: It’s not on an album, but you can find it here: http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x23g4s_502-sufjan-stevens-musicnow-the-lak

    Gay Messiah: Whatever.

    Bryce: Agreed re: Jeff Buckley; that version absolutely kills me.

    Is tradition closer to Scripture or experience (or right in the middle)?

    I work with mostly non-Christians and hung around a lot of them at Baylor, of all places, so it’s more than purely academic, I guess. I don’t know why it works out that way, either.

    I could send you a copy of the song (which is perfectly okay, as I got it for free off their website, anyway).

  4. mmm, ever since I heard that Jeff Buckley version on the “O.C.” season 1 finale, I’ve been really turned off to it. I guess that is my fault, though. 😛 Rufus all the way.

    From what I can tell, tradition is either closer to experience or squarely in between Scripture and experience. The people at Covenant tell me they value tradition more than Baptists, but less than Episcopalians. (Way to be, PCA.)

  5. I’d say that tradition is collective experience that has been filtered through time. So…maybe it’s closer to experience, or in the middle. What Hannah said sounds right.

    Maybe “academic” wasn’t the right word to use in relation to apologetics. I can’t think of one that better gets at what I’m saying there, though.

    Yeah, send me the mp3! (I couldn’t figure out their website.)

  6. Hmm, I like to still be fair to the Reformed tradition, even though I’m now Catholic. I’ll say that the best and most consistant view of tradition I found as a Calvinist was the idea that the Catholic Church became corrupt, but the true tradition was maintained through the reformers. Granted, this was a magisterial view of the Reformation, but it allows one to believe that tradition is important for interpreting Scripture and that the Catholic Church is not totally evil, just lost. I guess it’s the “Reformed Catholic” view. Anyway, I think it makes a lot of sense.

    reformedcatholicism.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

