t13

this week: 13 books you want to read, but haven’t.

1. The rest of Madeleine L’Engle’s Time Quartet–I’ve read A Wrinkle in Time, but not the other three.

2. Paradise Lost (I bought it for 50 cents at a book sale and it’s been sitting on my bookshelf ever since…it’s something I’ve been meaning to read, especially since one of my favorite professors loves Milton, so…).

3. The Canterbury Tales (I’ve read parts, but I’m enough of a nerd that I want to read the whole thing).

4. Fyodor Dostoevsky, Crime and Punishment

5. Kurt Vonnegut, Breakfast of Champions

6. Vladimir Nabokov, Lolita (yes, I know it’s about a pedophile, but I love Nabokov’s writing)

7. Douglas Coupland, Generation X

8. Gregory Maguire, Wicked (I have no idea how I have managed to not read this)

9. Sylvia Plath, The Bell Jar

10. John Piper, Suffering and the Sovereignty of God

11. C.S. Lewis, The Pilgrim’s Regress

12. William Shakespeare, A Winter’s Tale

13. Sophocles, Oedipus Rex

(Yes, I realize how nerdy this list is. Go away.)

5 thoughts on “t13

  1. I highly recommend the Time Quartet. It’s been a while since I’ve read them, but they’re all awesome. I ❤ An Acceptable Time (which may or not actually be a part of what you’re talking about, but it does have the word “time” in the title…)

    I’ve also heard that, in an unusual twist, Wicked the book is actually pretty terrible. But I haven’t read it, so don’t hold me to that.

    Now you’ve made me want to read. That’s mean, considering the only books available are the ones I brought with me (which I’ve already finished) and what I can bum off my fellow students. 😛

    Take care and be good!

  2. Oedipus Rex is worth reading…but not twelve times (they made me read it more than once in high school and here).

    I love L’Engle.

    I want to read Paradise Lost too…I think Ashley has though.

    Happy Friday!

  3. I love Paradise Lost! And the Pilgrim’s Regress…you have good taste.

    Have you read Immanuel Kant? (I’m sure you have.) I haven’t yet, and I’m going to have to do a paper on something from his Groundwork For Metaphysics…

  4. 1) George Szirtes, Reel
    2) Patrick Chamoisaeu, Texaco
    3) Natsuo Kirino, Out
    4) Paul Farley, The Boy from the Chemist is Here to See You
    5) Chris Abani, Graceland
    6) Peter Everwine, What the Word Dreamt
    7) ______________, In the House of Light
    8) George Saunders, The Braindead Megaphone
    9) – 13) Anything but what is assigned!

  5. fwiw, I read “Wicked” and really enjoyed it. So consider that “counterpoint” to Sara’s “point”.

    I read Generation X three or four times. Quick read. Fun.

    And you haven’t read Canterbury, Paradise Lost, or Oedipus? What DO they teach at these schools?!?

Leave a Reply

