children dream of wishing wells…

(…whose waters can quench all the fires of hell, and this too shall be made right.)

1. I had a roommate in college who used to wonder all the time about what a personal relationship with God meant, and I think I have an answer for her now (I have no idea if she still reads, but I’m mostly writing this to hash it out on my own, anyway): It’s not so much the idea that we have individual relationships with God (I mean, we do, but we do so in the context of a community of believers), but that we are both individually and collectively getting to know a Person, not an idea or an abstract figure. I have this tendency to think of God as a collection of characteristics, something He (see? He. personal pronoun) is blowing up in me. It’s a lot scarier to think of Him as a Person, because you don’t have to love and grapple with and obey and stand in awe before and fear a set of precepts. But it’s better, and more of an affirmation of both the Trinity and of the incarnation. We need the ideas, of course, but they should lead us to a knowledge that reaches beyond intellectual assent. Thoughts?

2. Then again, I’ve also been reading Donald Miller lately (flame away, guys), so that has been shaping my thinking about this. Take that as you will. 😉

3.  And (this point is stretching out beyond its limit) I don’t think there’s necessarily a dichotomy between the individual and the collective when it comes to Christianity–I mean, yes, we grow individually, and we are each at different points, but we are doing all this growing together…you are not grappling with my sin, but you can pray for me while I do; I am learning this particular thing, but I can pass it on to you so you can learn it as well. I’m not quite sure how to say what I mean, but y’all know what I’m trying to get at, right?

4. Okay. Enough of that. Um…I have been ridiculously tired these days, but it’s been really hard for me to sleep at night, too, and that’s not the best of combinations, really. Trying to cut back on my caffeine intake (which isn’t easy for me). Still kind of stressed. I need a vacation, or something. Would someone like to kidnap me?

5. I don’t believe in reincarnation, but if I did, I would like to come back with talent like this guy:

6. Finally, a few questions:

a) Cake or pie (…or death)?

b) How many schools have you attended?

c) What do you want to be when you grow up?

d) What was the next-to-last movie you saw? (Not the last one, the one before that.)

3 thoughts on “children dream of wishing wells…

  1. a) Cake, especially last week’s cake eaten while knitting and watching movies, which we thought was carrot until we cut it (buying food in Russia is an adventure).
    b) Starting at the beginning, 6.
    c) A Russian teacher. *nods*
    d) The Punisher (while eating cake and teaching an army boy to knit)

    I can’t kidnap you, so get some rest and take care, okay?

Leave a Reply

