all right, Edge, play the blues.

1. Happy 1753rd birthday to St. Augustine of Hippo, theologian and memoir writer extraordinaire. If they have cake in heaven, I suppose you don’t need to make a wish these days, but happy birthday, sir, and I look forward to sitting down with you and having a good long chat about those last few chapters of the Confessions.

2. Christmas gets earlier and earlier, it seems: We spent the past few weeks at work putting out all the Christmas accoutrements and what not; someone in my neighborhood has put up their lights already (I mean, really); TBS is already showing How the Grinch Stole Christmas. This is not right. This is not right at all. Maybe it’s a sign of our increasing desire to prolong childhood; maybe it’s a sign of our overachieving culture that wants to get as much as possible finished ahead of time, even though it just gives us more time to be even busier; maybe it’s the plot of the evil corporations to get us to spend more money in over a longer period of time. Whatever it is, though, it is a sign of our failure to realize that there is a time for everything; the longer we make it, the more we’re going to get tired of it, you know what I mean?

I’m waiting for Advent, so I can begin waiting for Jesus again. My soul needs liturgy and rhythm, and that cannot be defined by a secular culture.

3. My pastor’s been doing a series on the spiritual disciplines, so I’ve had liturgy on the brain a lot lately. I’m really time-obsessive–as in, I can’t have a watch or I’ll be checking it every ten seconds, and I have to have a calendar, and I have to plot out things by time, not space–so I really love the idea of a liturgical calendar, these time-markers that let us remember certain aspects of the gospel. The seasons aren’t mandatory, I guess, but like any other discipline, they’re a great help, at least for me.

4. Finally, to inject some fluff:

3 thoughts on “all right, Edge, play the blues.

  1. I don’t know if you noticed, but they’ve been showing all the old reruns of Whose Line on ABC Family at like…11 at night or something.

    So, if you’re up at 11.

    Watch Whose Line.

    This message brought to you by Whose Line Watchers Anonymous and the Damn We Miss Funny TV Collective.

  2. That’s why I want so much to go back to living somewhere where they have real seasons. I don’t think people in Texas can ever really understand Ecclesiastes until they live somewhere else for at least a few years.

    Good point about Christmas.

Leave a Reply

