give me good legs, and a japanese car…

1. That’s a quote from the new Iron & Wine CD, although neither would necessarily be unwelcome here. 😉

2. So, here’s something to ponder, and be convicted about: The early church grew through suffering, and so does the church around the world in areas where Christianity isn’t really looked upon favorably. Paul writes in Philippians that he wants to know Christ and share in the fellowship of His sufferings, and in his case it wasn’t just theoretical; he got beaten nearly to death on a number of occasions, and he did it all for the sake of Christ and His church. Now, Christ Himself suffered for the glory of God, and He also tells us that a servant isn’t greater than his master–if Jesus suffered, so will we.

Here’s the thing: How are we, in the affluent West, and especially those of us in America, suffering for the sake of Christ? I don’t mean go out and look for trouble, but how can we sacrifice in order to know Him and share in His sufferings? How can I sacrifice for the glory of God and to show that He is superior to everything else? Something to ponder.

3. Also, one cannot appreciate having a washer until said washer goes kaput for two weeks. Absence does make the heart grow fonder.

4. Oh, and because I missed it, happy 5th (5th!) anniversary to the blog (for some reason I thought it was tomorrow, but the date on this post tells me otherwise). I’m sorry, blog, it’s not because I don’t love you, it’s because I’m forgetful.

So, in (belated) celebration, and perhaps more to come, here’s a video:

3 thoughts on “give me good legs, and a japanese car…

  1. Happy 5’th to the Living Room! And so many miles to come…I mean…in 11 years the Living Room will be driving…then 2 more after that voting…then 3 more after that consuming alcohol.

    *tries not to get choked up*

    They just grow up…so damn fast.

  2. Happy 5th (and not the amendment) to the Living Room! I really love reading it.

    Also, I hear you on the washer thing. Due to the hozhaika wars, I did all my laundry by hand in the bathtub for the first month I was here. No one in this country has a dryer, either – I may hug mine when I get home…

Leave a Reply

