i have no fear of drowning…

1. (it’s the breathing that’s taking all this work)

2. Has anyone else noticed that there’s an odd sort of trend among people of my generation towards “older” things? What I mean is this: There’s the retro trend, of course, with people getting into everything from corsets to Chia Pets; younger evangelicals are turning to more traditional theologies like Roman Catholicism, Eastern Orthodoxy, and Reformed Calvinism; we want our food grown like it was 100 years ago; hipsters are learning how to build and carve and bake and knit and quilt and are making a DIY movement of things all our ancestors knew how to do out of necessity. The thing is that we take all of these things and reformulate it for postmodernism, so that those corsets are paired with holey jeans, or knitters make skull-covered sweaters, or the Calvinists are also writing anti-war songs (something our spiritual ancestors probably would have raised eyebrows at, considering).

What does this all mean? I don’t know, other than there’s nothing new under the sun. Thoughts?

3. One thing I’ve been kind of convicted about lately is how much money I spend on music, money that could be going somewhere else that’s more worthwhile. Nothing against music, of course; I mean, it’s what keeps my motor running most of the time. It runs in my veins and in my soul. When I pray, I think in terms of hymns more often than I do Scripture (I don’t know if that’s good or bad, but there you go.) I need music. And that can sometimes be dangerous. Sometimes I need to cancel the noise instead of feeding it, to be still and know. Besides, that $14 I’m dropping on a CD can be used somewhere else to feed and educate a kid, or fight AIDS and cancer, or fund a missionary. This isn’t for everyone, of course, so I’m not telling you to go stop buying CDs or what have you, but it is how God’s been speaking to me these days and I could use prayer, because this, as silly as it sounds, isn’t easy for me.

4. In other news, Sweeney Todd comes out on Friday and I REALLY WANT TO GO. Johnny Depp has a better voice than you would imagine; I have the feeling he deserves that Golden Globe nomination.

5. That’s all I’ve got. Good night.

One thought on “i have no fear of drowning…

Leave a Reply

