two turtledoves…

1. Happy second day of Christmas, folks. If two doves and a partridge show up, don’t be surprised. We had a good holiday at the McClendon house–or, more properly, at the hospital, where my mom still is, but is getting better. Yesterday did a lot for her emotionally, which is probably one of the better things that could have happened. 🙂 (Besides, my dad, I think, earns extra brownie points because he got her this, because she’s been on such a rough journey with her health the past few months…yeah. There were tears involved. And why not?)

Also, my cousin is now engaged, and to a really sweet girl that we’re all glad to add in to the clan! Congratulations to them. *throws confetti*

2. So. I have joined the ranks of the iPodded (iPotted? like, potted plants?), thanks to the great generosity of my parents–silver 4GB Nano, for the curious. If you don’t know this about me, I have the admittedly bizarre habit of naming my electronics (my previous mp3 player was called Yoshimi, for example), and I’m having a hard time with this one, so submissions are welcome. (I am seriously considering Hieronymous, after the patron saint of librarians, but if you guys come up with something better, I’ll take it.)

This could be dangerous.

Um, also, a copy of the Company soundtrack, the DVD of this movie, and a great-looking book called Twentysomeone (one of the co-authors is the RUF pastor at OU). And lotion from my aunt, and a sweater from my grandma. I know it’s not about the stuff, but the love behind it, so I feel pretty significantly loved, which something we all need to feel.

3. Also, my parents got a Roomba from my brother and sister-in-law (which is pretty awesome, and our floors are now really, really clean), and my dad has been having too much fun with it today. We are obvious gadget-tech people at my house, which I think may also explain the abundance of geekery (or is it the other way around?).

4. So, after doing poems every week at Kaleo for Advent (based on the lectionary, if you were wondering), I think I may continue to post one every Sunday here on the blog, at least for the rest of this church year. It was a good exercise for me, since it made me chew on the Word a lot, and apparently it’s been encouraging to a lot of people (which is good to know), so we’ll see what happens.

5. 2008 is almost here already! Is anyone else slightly weirded out by that? 2007’s been a pretty interesting year–uneventful for me, mostly, punctuated by a couple of major events, but everything hopefully has been driving me, driving all of us, further toward Christ. I’m learning how to repent, how to see Jesus instead of myself, and I pray the same for all of you in the upcoming year. It’s not easy, but it’s necessary and good.

6. Finally, because the season really technically isn’t over yet:

2 thoughts on “two turtledoves…

  1. Hieronymous Bosch painted the Garden of Earthly Delights…which is the only downside to that name. Other than that, you should do it! Especially since you shall join the librarian ranks.

    I like your poems…keep them.

Leave a Reply

