and it goes on and on and on and on…

1. Politics: So, Clinton and McCain won the primary last night, which is kind of surprising, but not really; given the current political environment, I have the feeling no one is going to be able to predict what’s going to happen until the conventions. The later primaries in June very well could be the deciding factor here, unless someone really surprises us.

To be completely honest, I have no idea who I’m going to vote for in the Texas primaries come March; I kind of like Huckabee, I like what I’ve heard about Thompson, Paul and I have similar domestic politics, but his foreign policy is nuts; Giuliani’s a little too obsessed with terrorists (I mean, it’s important, but really); Obama’s an interesting character, although I don’t know enough about his domestic policy; there is no way I’m voting for Clinton (sorry, ma’am, but really); I don’t know anything about McCain except he’s conservative but doesn’t dig our current use of torture (which I’m down with, but that’s hardly a reason to vote for the guy).

The thing is, what I think we’re forgetting in all the hype is that whoever gets elected is going to have to lead the free world for at least four years. Whatever the result is, I’m terrified of what party politics are going to be like in the next presidency, and the next president is going to have a lot of pressure put on him (…or her) on all sides. Now is a time for Christians to be on their knees before they go to the polls; the current political environment makes me happy that Jesus’ kingdom trumps them all.

2.  That all being said, I had this conversation with Teacher Dave last night:

Me: interesting mental picture: bono’s first meeting with the next president.
Me: *is amused and somewhat horrified at the thought of bono meeting with ron paul*
Dave: instant barfight.
Dave: RP: We aren’t giving any money to any of those Africans. America for Americans!
Dave: Bono: Why you little mother– *PUNCH*
Dave: wipes the floor with him.
Dave: that’d certainly help dull the mind-blowing shock and pain of a Ron Paul upset.
Dave: of course, that will never happen. it’d be more likely for he and Dennis Kucinich to be elected President and Vice President of the Grey Havens first.
Me: LOL

3. Also, I’m really tempted to make a “John Knox [or other old-school theologian] for President” button. You want conservative? We’ll give you conservative…

4.  T13 to come tomorrow.

5. That’s all I’ve got for the time being; maybe something a little meatier will show up soon. Oh, and for those who were wondering, the iPod got named Anonymous Bob. No, I don’t know where that came from, either.

One thought on “and it goes on and on and on and on…

  1. 5. Anonymous Bob? Does it say, “It ain’t me, babe,” every time you power it up?

    Don’t know why but it struck me as Dylanish. I must be reading too much of his book; everything sounds like Bob.

Leave a Reply

