t13

this week: your 13 least favorite books, ever.

1. Joseph Conrad, Heart of Darkness.

2. Mark Twain, A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court.

3. Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist.

4. Randy Alcorn, Lord Foulgrim’s Letters.

5. F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby (this may be because I read it in about three hours, though; I’ll have to give it another chance).

6. Elfriede Jelinek, The Piano Teacher (the best part is, I had to give a presentation on it, so I had to finish it. Otherwise, I would’ve quit about chapter three or so).

7. John Milton, Samson Agonistes.

8. Imre Kertesz, Fatelessness.

9. Kate Chopin, The Awakening.

10. Edith Wharton, Ethan Frome.

11. Cormac McCarthy, All the Pretty Horses. (To be fair, I don’t hate it with a vengeance like I do some of these other picks, but I found it pretty overwrought.)

12.  Gabriel Garcia Marquez, The Autumn of the Patriarch.

13.  E.M. Forester, A Room With a View.

2 thoughts on “t13

  1. I agree wholeheartedly with #1. The only other one I ever had to read was Ethan Frome, sophomore year of high school. I didn’t hate it but my goodness was it depressing. I’ve read The Road, the book that won Cormac McCarthy the Pulitzer Prize and it’s a good one, can’t speak for any of his other work, although I did like the movie adaptation of No Country For Old Men, which was based on his novel.

    I think my list would include most of the reading list for my senior year of high school, which means Heart of Darkness, Lord of the Flies, and Beloved.

Leave a Reply

