the key’s under the mat.

I’m going offline for a while, probably until I get back from New York on the 28th (Steph and I are going up there for vacation, woo). Have a great rest of Lent, a wonderful, wonderful Easter (and may I say a premature “He is risen indeed”).

While I’m gone, here is a reader survey:

1) Give me five things you want to do before you die, aside from “get married, have kids, love Jesus” or some variation thereof.

2) What’s the longest thing you’ve ever memorized, and do you still remember it?

3) What’s the longest book you’ve ever read?

4) You’re on a desert island–which four fictional characters would you want with you?

5) What superpower would you least want to have?

6) So. Who are you going to vote for in the presidential elections?

7) Which website would you say you frequent the most? (If anyone says this one, I will be very worried.)

Oh, yeah, and here’s the first place act from this year’s Sing at Baylor:

3 thoughts on “the key’s under the mat.

  1. So many questions, yeesh.

    1) Finish and publish my books; learn guitar; learn Latin; get back to the physical shape i had in high school; roadtrip up the West Coast.

    2) The Book of Colossians, the King James Version. And no.

    3) Les Miserable, at over 1400 pages. Followed by The Stand, and Strange and Norrell.

    4) That all depends on whether or not i’m in a hurry to get off the island.

    5) The ability to hear other people’s thoughts.

    6) McCain. The least noxious (to me) of the three. I really wish Obama was on my team, but if he were, he wouldn’t be Obama, would he? So there it is.

    7) Besides email and Facebook? Pyromaniacs. (http://teampyro.blogspot.com) A team blog of Reformed Godbloggers. Edifying, challenging, and entertaining. And they like goofing on the Emergent kids. Makes me laugh.

  2. Give me five things you want to do before you die, aside from “get married, have kids, love Jesus” or some variation thereof.
    1. Complete 1 live model photo-shoot for print in a known publication
    2. Start a business that provides an income to feed one of my kids college funds.
    3. Teach a bible class at a private school
    4. Participate in the “Hotter Than Hell” cycle race
    5. Kayak for a 3 day trip down a river.

    What’s the longest thing you’ve ever memorized, and do you still remember it?
    Twas Brillig In the Slivy Toves, did gyre and gimple in the wabe, all mimsy were the borogroves, and the mome wraths outgrave.

    What’s the longest book you’ve ever read?
    “House of Leaves”

    You’re on a desert island–which four fictional characters would you want with you?
    Aslan – Created by CS Lewis in the Narnia Series
    Bartleby – because I’d need the imagination to pass time
    Clementine & Joel – The Eternal Sunshine of The Spotless Mind

    What superpower would you least want to have?
    The ability to grow my fingernails really fast (Family Guy)

    So. Who are you going to vote for in the presidential elections?
    McCain, because he’s the only one who holds the same values I do. And I can’t vote for Obama because I can’t vote for somebody who supports partial birth abortions.

    Which website would you say you frequent the most? (If anyone says this one, I will be very worried.)
    http://www.coloredorange.com (to see the new pictures of my friends wedding!)

  3. – Give me five things you want to do before you die, aside from “get married, have kids, love Jesus” or some variation thereof:
    1) Go to Seminary and learn about Christ-centered Counseling
    2) Travel – cities and countryside, roadtrips and planetrips, mountains and beaches, appreciating Creation more deeply.
    3) Lead worship at a church (not just play piano).
    4) Develop my singing voice
    5) Read and read and read and read.

    – What’s the longest thing you’ve ever memorized, and do you still remember it? Psalm 119. I could get it back I think.

    – What’s the longest book you’ve ever read? Either Middlemarch, by George Eliot, or The Brother Karamazov, by Fyodor Dostoevsky.

    – You’re on a desert island–which four fictional characters would you want with you?
    1) Alyosha Karamazov
    2) Samwise Gamgee
    3) John Ames (Gilead, Marilynne Robinson)
    4) Either Dorothea Brooke or Jane Eyre

    – What superpower would you least want to have? Rogue’s, in X-Men. Sucking people’s life out of them to absorb their strengths, and not being able to stop it. That would be a nightmare.

    – So. Who are you going to vote for in the presidential elections? I’m a little conflicted. I might write in Ron Paul. I can’t bring myself to voting for Obama or Clinton at this point, and McCain is only a bit better as far as I can tell. I also am tired of voting for the least worst candidate available. Republicans aren’t really conservative in the real sense of the word anymore. Democrats seem to be more about human rights, but their view of man is way off and morally there are of course issues. I don’t know. At this point I would say I’m leaning toward writing in.

    7) Which website would you say you frequent the most? (If anyone says this one, I will be very worried.) It seems stupid at first, but you might get strangely addicted. Oh, and I very highly recommend turning the sound off… http://games.yahoo.com/free-games/perfect-pizza

Leave a Reply

