t13 (it’s back!)

This week: 13 theater roles you’d want to play, regardless of gender or other qualifications.

1. Mark Cohen, Rent (I’ve already got the glasses and all…).
2. Emily Webb, Our Town.
3. Titania, A Midsummer Night’s Dream.
4. Violet, Twelfth Night.
5. The Angel of America, Angels in America.
6. Dr. Vivian Bearing, Wit.
7. John the Baptist/Judas, Godspell (and actually, I’ve heard of women doing this before).
8. Marcy Park, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee.
9. Eponine Thenardier, Les Miserables (ever notice how every girl wants to be Eponine? No one I know wants to be Fantine or Cosette–no, Eponine. Why? Because she is the stuff).
10. Amy, Company (*runs screaming from the room*).
11. Mrs. Lovett, Sweeney Todd.
12. Maggie the Cat, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (one day, when they do the first all-Asian production…).
13. Eve, The Skin of Our Teeth (a Thornton Wilder play about the end of the world–more fun than it sounds).

2 thoughts on “t13 (it’s back!)

  1. ohhh holy crappoli.

    Let’s see…in no particular order…

    1. Gilmer, “Godspell.” (I really do want to someday. I think it’s more likely than most of my other picks.)
    2. Clara, “The Light in the Piazza.”
    3. Elphaba, “Wicked.” (Good grief, this list is predictable.)
    4. Lady Macbeth, “Macbeth.”
    5. Sally Brown, “You’re a Good Man Charlie Brown.”
    6. Dr. Vivian Bearing, “Wit.” (I’m totally with you on that one.)
    7. Hodel, “Fiddler on the Roof.” (I just want to sing “Far From the Home I Love.”)
    8. Tracy Turnblad, “Hairspray.” (After seeing it in London over break, this is my fantasy life goal.)
    9. Eponine, “Les Miserables.” (There’s no getting around this. I can’t help it. Also, I think Cosette’s annoying.)
    10. Thea Elvsted, “Hedda Gabler.”
    11. Maria, “The Sound of Music.”
    12. That Sad Woman, “Oliver.” (I forget her name.)
    13. Any character, “Six Characters in Search of an Author.” Just to see how the audience responds.

    One runner-up: The Lady of the Lake in “Spamalot.” I don’t want to wear those clothes, though, so sorry producers, I can’t be in your show.

Leave a Reply

