t13

Going up early, because I’m sitting here thinking about it…

This week: 13 favorite song lyrics.

1. “You have suffered enough and warred with yourself/It’s time that you won” –“Falling Slowly” by The Swell Season

2. “Now pull these idols out from my heart and praise/Rock of ages, I need Your grace” –“Rock of Ages (When the Day Seems Long)” by Sandra McCracken

3. “Stephen A. Douglas was the great debater/But Abraham Lincoln was the great emancipator”–“Decatur, Or, Round of Applause For Your Stepmother!” by Sufjan Stevens

4. “And they stretch along this highway like so many martyrs/That hung and burned for loving, shedding light on Caesar’s gardens/They’re passing on a message sent from you to us here in New Mexico”–“New Mexico” by Andrew Osenga

5. “The only pain is to feel nothing at all/How can I hurt when I’m holding you?”–“A Man and a Woman” by U2

6. “I am thinking it’s a sign/That the freckles in our eyes are mirror images/And when we kiss they perfectly collide” –“Such Great Heights” by The Postal Service

7. “It’s just me and the GWB/Asking gee, Nina, what’ll you be?” –“Breathe” from In the Heights

8. “So sing loud for the canyons and soft for the parasites/And squeeze your spouses and children good night/And map out your futures and freeze-dry your food/And look for your reflection on a dime”–“Daisies and Sandalwood” by Steven Delopoulos

9. “I’m trading comfort for human life/And that’s not just murder, it’s suicide/And this too shall be made right” –“This Too Shall Be Made Right” by Derek Webb

10. “She makes the sign of a teaspoon, he makes the sign of a wave/The poor boy changes clothes and puts on aftershave/To compensate for his ordinary shoes” –“Diamonds On the Soles of Her Shoes” by Paul Simon

11. “We sit here debating the meaning of justice/With self-righteous spin and an upper-caste grin/But we’re still suffocating on quicksand indifference/Where no choice is ever that hard”–“The Innocent’s Corner” by Caedmon’s Call

12. “No guilt in life, no fear in death/This is the power of Christ in me/From life’s first cry to final breath/Jesus commands my destiny” –“In Christ Alone” by Keith and Kristyn Getty

13. “I caught the flu and away I flew/NYC, pediate blue/Dimetap and spinal taps/City maps and hand claps”–“Kingpin” by Wilco

One thought on “t13

  1. Madalyn says:

    Ok, here goes…although it’s late and I’m doing this off the top of my head…

    1. “All lies in jest/Still a man hears what he wants to hear/And disregards the rest” –“The Boxer” by Simon and Garfunkel

    2. “I can melt the clock hands down/But only in my memory/No one gets a second chance/To be the friend they meant to be”–“Treasure of the Broken Land” by Mark Heard

    3. “Take a minute just to breathe/And think of everything you wanted/And what you got instead” –“Straight Ahead” by David Cook

    4. “”That wind up in the trees/Scattering bluebirds all over the place/ Shuffling children and piles of leaves/I wish I was the wind, I’d touch your face”–“Friends” by Ryan Adams

    5.”‘Cause you can’t make somebody see/By the simple words you say/All their beauty from within/Sometimes they just look away”–“Goodbye” by Patty Griffin

    6. “I ain’t sayin you treated me unkind/You coulda done better but I don’t mind/You just kinda wasted my precious time/But don’t think twice, it’s all right”–“Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right” by Bob Dylan

    7. “And I wish her insight to battle love’s blindness/Strength from the milk of human kindness/A safe place for all the pieces that scattered/Learn to pretend there’s more than love that matters”–“Love Will Come to You” by Emily Saliers (of the Indigo Girls)

    8. “Do you believe in rock ‘n’ roll?/Can music save your mortal soul?/And can you teach me how to dance real slow?”–“American Pie” by Don McClean

    9. “Baby, I’m much too young/To keep good love from going wrong”–“Lover You Should Have Come Over” by Jeff Buckley

    10. “All these sins I am confessing/They still come knocking at my door/But I know better than to answer/I tell them, ‘That girl don’t live here any more'”–“Shake that Devil” by Joan Osborne

    11. “There’s people been friendly/But they’d never be your friends/Sometimes this has bent me to the ground/But now that this is all ending I want hear some music once again/’Cause it’s the finest thing that I have ever found”–“Elijah” by Rich Mullins

    12. “Jesus never let me down/Jesus used to show me the score/Then they put Jesus in show business/Now it’s hard to get in the door”–“If God Willl Send His Angels” by U2

    13. “What a beautiful piece of heartache/This has all turned out to be”–“Latter Days” by Over the Rhine

Leave a Reply

