mix tape monday

This week: Songs that are good for your soul–stuff you listen to when you’re feeling discouraged, stuff you’d give a friend going through a rough patch.

1. Vigilantes of Love – Earth Has No Sorrow (Killing Floor)
“Why is joy something I must steal/Starving skeletons looking for a meal/While out in the graveyard church bells peal/Earth has no sorrow heaven can’t heal”

2. Bruce Springsteen – My City of Ruins (The Rising)
“Now the sweet veils of mercy drift through the evening trees/Young men on the corner like scattered leaves”

3. Sufjan Stevens – For the Widowers in Paradise, For the Fatherless in Ypsilanti (Michigan)
“I have called you children, I have called you son/What is there to answer if I’m the only one/I did everything for you”

4. Sixpence None the Richer – Brighten My Heart (Exodus)
“My heart is as dark as the soil sodden with winter rain/Lord, brighten my heart”

5. Sandra McCracken – The Love of Christ is Rich and Free (The Builder and the Architect)
“He loves through every changing scene/Nor aught from Him can Zion wean/Not all the wanderings of her heart/Can make His love for her depart”

6. Bebo Norman – Where the Angels Sleep (Ten Thousand Days)
“I am alive and standing strong/No farther forward, just farther along/I hold on to my pride and dig in deep/I’m letting you down, but I am no closer to relief”

7. Patty Griffin – When It Don’t Come Easy (Impossible Dream)
“If you break down, I’ll come and find you/If you forget my love, I’ll come and remind you/Stand by you when it don’t come easy”

8. Frou Frou – Let Go (the Garden State soundtrack)
“Let go, let go/Jump in, oh, it’s so amazing here/It’s all right/’Cause there’s beauty in the breakdown”

9. 100 Portraits and Waterdeep – You Are So Good to Me (Enter the Worship Circle)
“You are so good to me/You heal my broken heart/You are my Father in heaven/You are beautiful, my sweet, sweet song”

10. Keith and Kristyn Getty – In Christ Alone (In Christ Alone)
“In Christ alone my hope is found/He is my light, my strength, my song/This cornerstone, this solid ground/Firm through the fiercest drought and storm”

11. The Beatles – Let It Be (1)
“And when the night is cloudy/There is still a light that shines on me/Shine on through tomorrow, let it be”

12. Derek Webb – This Too Shall Be Made Right (The Ringing Bell)
“Children dream of wishing wells/Whose waters can quench all the fires of hell/And this too shall be made right”

13. Benj Pocta and Brian T. Murphy – Why Should I Fear?
“Had I the guilt of all the world/He’s able to forgive/Why should I fear, the debt is paid/If only I believe”

14. Caedmon’s Call – 40 Acres (40 Acres)
“Your spirit’s hanging in a bottle up on a tree/You say you’re the black sheep/I say you’re still family”

15. Jars of Clay – Worlds Apart (Jars of Clay)
“Take my beauty, take my tears/The sin-soaked heart and make it Yours/Take my world apart”

16. Shane & Shane – It Is Well (How Great is Our God)
“Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say/It is well, it is well with my soul”

One thought on “mix tape monday

  1. kristen says:

    I like “Why Should I Fear?” but my RMM good for the soul is definitely “The Christian’s Hope Can Never Fail.”

Leave a Reply

