one two three four

1. So, yeah. I kind of dig Sarah Palin. Much prefer her over Obama/Biden and even McCain himself. Obviously, I don’t agree with all her stances, but she looks like at least an interesting choice. (And, as much as I’m curious to see what an Obama administration would look like, I don’t know if I necessarily want to help usher it in. *shrug*)

Still. This election has basically reaffirmed my general state of disillusionment with American politics. Trying to figure out how to be a citizen of heaven in my earthly outpost–especially in a politically charged city like Austin. Now’s a good time to be praying.

2. All you theatre people, help a sister out: My roommate’s trying to think of a good play to do with her kids at her job. She teaches high school drama at a tiny Christian school, so her cast needs to be small (15 max, she thinks); she’s got a tiny budget but a lot of costumes; she doesn’t feel up to doing anything musical, so those are out; and, obviously, the content needs to be both age- and context-appropriate (no sex, drugs, rock and roll, or violence). We thought of Thornton Wilder’s The Matchmaker, but if you can come up with anything else suggestions are welcome. (If she gets desperate enough, I’m writing her a script. Please save her from that fate.)

3. Started my two other classes today…should be fun…I get to learn XML for one of them…

4. I need to learn how to write better for the blog. Get more focused and less mundane. Merlin Mann wrote a post about what makes a good blog and I’ve been thinking about the implications of that for what I do here. We shall see what happens.

5. That’s all I’ve got. Have a good one, kids.

3 thoughts on “one two three four

  1. AGH! I just wrote a long comment and did something stupid and erased it. Well, here’s my attempt to recreate:

    Re. #2: Oscar Wilde writes some fabulous fun, witty, clean (for the most part — and certainly by today’s standards) plays. The Importance of Being Earnest is my favorite, and there are ten people in that cast; it’s so much fun to be a part of!

    Shakespeare might be a bit too ambitious, but at my high school we did a version of The Comedy of Errors (and cut out a dirty subplot — you can do that with Shakespeare) and set it in the ’20s. Not all the actors completely understood everything they were saying, but the audience got the gist, and it was a good experience. That cast might be a little bit bigger, though.

    Larry Shue’s play The Foreigner might also be good. I haven’t read it, but I’ve seen it twice, and I don’t remember there being much objectionable content (if any). Oops, actually, there is some Ku Klux Klan stuff in it; but it’s portrayed as the nasty sinful thing that it is. The play is well-written and it’s a comedy that audiences seem to like a lot.

    Arsenic and Old Lace! Now there’s a great one. It looks like there are fourteen in that cast. If by some chance you’ve never seen it, rent the movie — it’s great!

    And, finally, the last off-the-top-of-my-head play is The Mousetrap, by Agatha Christie. If your actors (and audience) can handle suspense, go for it — or most any play by her, really. Ten Little Indians is good, too.

    OK, that’s all I got right now. It can be so hard to pick a play for this age and demographic, but there are some quality ones out there. Let us know what she ends up doing!

  2. Amanda,

    I have a friend who teaches drama to homeschooled students, and I’m going to email a link to your post to her. Her name is Michelle, and if she sees my email (she’s crazy busy), she might have some suggestions for you.

  3. Hey, This is Michelle, and yes, I usually am crazy busy. I was looking for an old e-mail, and I just realized I had overlooked Sherry’s e-mail last month. This is probably too late, but Drama teachers always need new play ideas, so here are some to look into. πŸ™‚
    The author Tim Kelly (A Samuel French author)writes alot of plays specifically for High School, and he tends to consider High School needs (small set, more girl roles. . . ) His Hound of the Baskervilles worked well, and many others. . .
    Ugly Duckling by A.A. Milne (not the duck story, it’s a really funny story about an ugly princess, but with enough jokes to keep the guys interested, too)
    Harvey, by Mary Chase. It’s about a guy who sees a big white rabbit named Harvey, and everyone thinks he’s crazy. It was made into a movie with Jimmy Stewart. It doesn’t focus on love or violence, making it great for junior high or early highschool(It is a Dramatists Play Service play. I always get that company mixed up with the Dramatic publishing company, but those two and Samuel French seem to be the big three play publishers out there, and they hold most of the rights to these types of plays).

    Those mentioned in the post above are great, and we have done most of them. The Foreigner does have issues some issues of cheating in marriage, and one guy gets a girl pregnant so she will marry him sooner. . . and a preacher who is the bad guy, But it is a very funny play.

    Black Coffee is another Agatha Christie great, and it is clean.

    I Never Saw Another Butterfly — sad, but dramatic and beautiful (about Jewish kids in a concentration camp)

    This is just a beginning. There are alot out there. πŸ™‚

    E-mail me if you’d like any more ideas. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

