all shall be well

1. It’s almost midnight, and I am posting, because I’m wide awake and caffeinated and I need to do something cathartic, I suppose. Lots of homework today. I stressed myself out unnecessarily for a bit until I realized I just need to pace myself and stay focused (which isn’t always easy for me, heh).

2. I’ve been considering this: The longer I’m a Christian, the more my beliefs have turned into something I look through, rather than look at specifically–they inform my thinking rather than consume it entirely, if that makes any sense. Which is not to say that I don’t take a look at them every once in a while and study, but it’s so they’ll get deeper into me and translate into action and an overall worldview and a stronger faith in the One to whom they point. Doctrine without trust and without good practice means nothing, and I’m starting to understand that more.

3. This is a random thought: High-church denominations tend to produce good writers, especially of fiction. Not always, but a lot of the time. Think about it. Tolkien? Catholic. Flannery O’Connor? Catholic. Walker Percy? Catholic. G.K. Chesterton? Catholic. Evelyn Waugh? Catholic. C.S. Lewis? Anglican. Madeleine L’Engle? Episcopalian. T.S. Eliot? Anglican. Frederick Buechner? Congregationalist. What can you say? I have my own theories about this, but they feel kind of unformed, so maybe I’ll expound on this sometime later.

4. How is it almost October already? This is ridiculous…

5. Okay, okay, I need to go to bed so I can get to church in the morning. Later, y’all.

One thought on “all shall be well

  1. hey blogging buddy! it was so great to meet you tonight!

    [2.] such amazing insight. one of my favorite c.s. lewis quotes says, “i believe in christianity as i believe that the sun has risen: not only because i see it, but because by it i see everything else.”

Leave a Reply

