currently…

Reading: The Search by John Bartelle, a book about Google (it’s for class, but it’s actually really interesting); The Supper of the Lamb by Robert Farrar Capon, which is probably the only book I know of on the theology of cooking (seriously…and it’s really good).

Listening: A little bit of everything, actually, whilst putting together a mix of my top 50 favorite songs from this year. Stay tuned, if you’re interested in getting a copy.

Knitting: This, in a deep turquoise wool. It’s pretty. I may post pictures.

Pondering: American perfectionism, whatever it is that has me breaking out in hives across my shoulders (yikes), what to get/make people for Christmas, a project due in three weeks (yikes!), the symbols of the Christian metanarrative (so far: blood, water, fire, trees, cities, marriage…anything else?), how I should be drinking more water, and how I might make some pumpkin chocolate chip cake tomorrow…

5 thoughts on “currently…

  1. American perfectionism. Isn’t it the strangest feeling to be a part of a temporary trend and to be self-conscious of it? I wonder if people in the 60’s knew that they were hippies…

  2. Wait wait wait…the theology of cooking? Seriously? Do tell! (for those of us who have no time to read the book and an already too-full reading list)

  3. How I miss the pumpkin chocolate chip cake.

    Haha, but I’ve learned a lot about American non-perfectionism here. The people I’m with have a lot of strange views, but I guess it’s good for me to learn things like that.

    Happy Fall!

  4. Robert Capon is such an interesting author. Very close to a universalist, but I think gets closer to the radical grace of the Gospel than most moralistic/religious-type folks do…

  5. Ashley: Actually, I think perfectionism has been with us since day one (glory, God, and gold…the “city on a hill” and the Protestant work ethic…). And the theology of cooking? Well, think how matter is actually a good thing, because God made it, and made it for us to enjoy (we are not gnostics, after all), and God took it on Himself in the Incarnation. Also, consider all the times the Bible talks about feasts and celebrations, and all the times Jesus feeds people, and how we “proclaim the Lord’s death until He comes” with food and drink. Food is communal, food is incarnational.

    Erica: Exactly (to both).

    Bill: I agree. I read another book of his on the theology of households, and I picked up on some of those threads. I dig his work a lot.

Leave a Reply

