six years.

Six years. 2,190 days.

November 19, 2002, I was a senior in high school, and I posted this at studentteacher.blogspot.com:

So this is my first post on this thing. This is about the fifth time I’ve tried making one of these because my computer at home is stupid, so I’m going to start blogging from the computer in study hall at school… Well, I’m your semi-run-of-the-mill high school student, and I want to be an English or performing arts teacher when I get out of college (hence the web address).

Six years since that day, and what’s happened?

We’ve gone to war. We’ve reelected a president and elected a new one. Bombs have gone off in London and Spain, crowds have gathered for the G8, athletes converged for three Olympic Games and two World Cups, the UK got a new prime minister and France a new president, the UN got a new secretary-general. TV shows have come and gone. We are now in a state of recession, waiting to see what the future brings.

A niece and a nephew were born. People got married. People had babies. They quit blogging. They started tweeting. They got on Facebook. They moved and started new jobs.

I went to Hawaii and Scotland and came home in one piece. I graduated high school and college. I started grad school. I worked (and work) for Target. I’m 23 now. I found two new churches and fell in love with the people at both. I’ve been through seven roommates. I made new friends, lost touch with old ones.

And in six years, my heart has been pieced back together by a gracious God. I am not only reborn, I get remade every single day.

Blogging’s been fun. I’ve met, both online and face to face, some good people as a result of it. I think it’s improved my writing somewhat. And if anything, it’s required me to think through some issues I probably wouldn’t otherwise. And don’t worry, I don’t plan on quitting any time soon. I hope to hit at least 20 years here, even if some crazy new technology shows up. But blogging, if it ever gets in the way of me knowing God, will be left by the wayside if He so calls me.

Six years. In 2014, where will we all be? Who knows. I don’t. But He does. And that, my friends, is all part of the adventure. I plan to map it along the way.

2 thoughts on “six years.

Leave a Reply

