hey, y’all, good morning

(currently listening: The Innocence Mission, “Tomorrow On the Runway”)

It’s 11:35 as I’m writing this, so it’s almost afternoon, but still. I just woke up, like, an hour ago. So there. By some freak of nature I don’t have to go to work again until Friday, so I’ve been doing random crap around my apartment and around northwest Austin. Yesterday our apartment complex did something that actually got me rather incensed, which is unusual, as I am probably the most non-confrontational person in the world (it takes a LOT to get me upset enough to say something about it). I think it got worked out this morning; I’m just waiting for my roommate to call me back and see what she says about it. So that was interesting. I’ve been on an adrenaline rush since last night, and now I’m coming down off of it, which is always interesting.

What else is going on? To be honest, not a whole lot. Reading some rather thought-provoking material (Macbeth and Dallas Willard’s The Divine Conspiracy). Writing. Started my first sweater a few days ago. Nothing terribly exciting, and thus my thought life hasn’t really been, either. Been doing a lot of in-the-trenches kind of thinking, slogging through everyday life and trying to view it through the lenses of the gospel. Nothing terribly profound, but this is where most of our days are lived out, which I love.

Today’s the feast of the Epiphany, when we celebrate Jesus being revealed to the world, in the form of the magi coming to visit Him from afar. For some reason this is one of my favorite parts of the Story, these foreign men coming to visit the newborn King of the Jews, who would be their King as well. I have the feeling I’m not getting a lot of Jewish Christian readership–I know that I’m as Gentile as you can get–so I thank God that the Gospel is for all peoples of the world. Let us all see Him, every nation and tribe and tongue, and come and worship.

And now to completely break the mood, the funniest mashup I think I’ve ever heard:

One thought on “hey, y’all, good morning

Leave a Reply

