mix tape monday

This week: Another round of pick an artist and give us your favorite songs by them. My pick: U2.

1. “Gloria” (October)
“Gloria in te, Domine/Gloria exultate/Oh, Lord, if I have anything/Anything at all, I give it to You”

2. “Beautiful Day” (All That You Can’t Leave Behind)
“You thought you’d found a friend to take you out of this space/Someone you could lend a hand in return for grace”

3. “Desire” (Rattle and Hum)
“She’s a candle burnin’ in my room/I’m like the needle, needle and spoon”

4. “One” (Achtung Baby)
“We get to carry each other, carry each other”

5. “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” (Joshua Tree)
“You broke the thorns and You loosed the chains/Carried the cross of my shame, of my shame/You know I believe it/But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for”

6. “Seconds” (War)
“And they’re doing the atomic bomb/They know where the dance comes from/Yeah, they’re doing the atomic bomb/And they want you to sing along”

7. “Drowning Man” (War)
“Rise up, rise up on wings like eagles/They’ll run, they’ll run, they’ll run and not grow weary”

8. “Kite” (All That You Can’t Leave Behind)
“Life should be fragrant/Rooftop to the basement/The last of the rock stars/When hip-hop drove the big cars/At the time when new media/Was the big idea”

9. “Who’s Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses” (Achtung Baby)
“Who’s gonna taste your salt water kisses/Who’s gonna take the place of me”

10. “I Threw a Brick Through a Window” (October)
“No one is blinder than he who will not see/No one, no one is blinder than me”

11. “A Man and a Woman” (How to Dismantle An Atomic Bomb)
“The only pain is to feel nothing at all/How can I hurt when I’m holding you”

12. “Acrobat” (Achtung Baby)
“I’d take the bread and wine/If there was a church I could receive in”

13. “Two Hearts Beat As One” (War)
“I don’t know, I don’t know which side I’m on/I don’t know my right from left, or my right from wrong”

14. “Bad” (The Unforgettable Fire)
“If I cut through myself to set your spirit/I’d lead this heart away, see you break, break away”

15. “Running to Stand Still” (Joshua Tree)
“You cry without weeping/Talk without speaking/Scream without raising your voice”

16. “MLK” (The Unforgettable Fire)
“Sleep, sleep tonight/And may your dreams be realized”

17. “40” (War)
“And I will sing, sing a new song/How long to sing this song?”

One thought on “mix tape monday

  1. I went with U2 last time, Sufjan Stevens will suffice this time around.

    1. “All the Trees of the Field Will Clap Their Hands” (Seven Swans)
    2. “The Man of Metropolis Steals Our Hearts” (Illinois)
    3. “Casimir Pulaski Day” (Illinois)
    4. “No Man’s Land” (The Avalanche)
    5. “Sister Winter” (Songs For Christmas)
    6. “He Woke Me Up Again” (Seven Swans)
    7. “The Predatory Wasp of the Palisades Is Out To Get Us!” (Illinois)
    8. “That Was the Worst Christmas Ever!” (Songs For Christmas)
    9. “Majesty Snowbird” (Live From Town Hall)
    10. “Come On! Feel The Illinoise!” (Illinois)
    11. “What Goes On” (This Bird Has Flown: A 40th Anniversary Tribute to The Beatles)
    12. “Star of Wonder” (Songs For Christmas)
    13. “The Transfiguration” (Seven Swans)
    14. “John Wayne Gacy, Jr.” (Illinois)
    15. “For the Widows in Paradise, For the Fatherless in Ypsilanti” (Michigan)

Leave a Reply

