mix tape monday

This may be easier for some of us than others, but: Songs from musicals. Limit of two songs per musical.

1. “Lullaby of Broadway” (42nd Street)
“When a Broadway baby says good night/It’s early in the morning/Manhattan babies don’t sleep tight until the dawn…”

2. “You Could Drive a Person Crazy” (Company)
“You impersonate a person better than a zombie should”

3. “Bless the Lord” (Godspell)
“He will not always chide/He will with patience wait/His wrath is ever slow to rise”

4. “A Little Priest” (Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street)
“Looks thicker–more like vicar.” “No, it has to be grocer; it’s green.”

5. “Generations” (Children of Eden)
“Son follow father, birth follow birth/Spread the people all over the earth/Mama tell daughter how boy follow girl/Spread the people all over the wide wide world”

6. “One By One” (The Lion King)
Translated from the Zulu: “Hold on tight, my people/Don’t get weary/Don’t lose your strength”

7. “96,000” (In the Heights)
“It’s silly when we get into these crazy hypotheticals/You really want some bread, then go ahead, create a set of goals/And then cross ’em off the list as you pursue ’em/And with those 96 I know precisely what I’m doin’…”

8. “Singin’ In the Rain” (Singin’ In the Rain)
“I’ll walk down the lane with a happy refrain/Just singin’, just singin’ in the rain…”

9. “One Song Glory” (Rent)
“One song to redeem this empty life/Time flies, and then no need to endure anymore”

10. “Shadowland” (The Lion King)
“And where the journey may lead me, let your prayer be my guide/I cannot stay here, my family, but I’ll remember my pride”

11. “Sunrise” (In the Heights)
“So how do you say ‘help me’?” “Ayúdame…” “And how do you say ‘promise me’?” “Prométeme…” “Promise me you’ll stay beyond the sunrise.”

12. “All Good Gifts” (Godspell)
“We have no gifts to offer for all Thy love imparts/But that which Thou desirest, our humble thankful hearts”

13. “Sorry-Grateful” (Company)
“Good things get better, bad get worse/Wait–I think I meant that in reverse”


(*Random note on this one–the first guy singing reminds me of my friend Marti’s dad, and it freaks me out.)

14. “Without You” (Rent)
“The stars gleam, the poets dream/The eagles fly without you/The earth turns, the sun burns/But I die without you”

15. “Louder Than Words” (Tick, Tick…BOOM)
“Why would we rather put ourselves through hell/Than sleep alone at night?”

One thought on “mix tape monday

  1. YOU GOT THE MR. INGVARDSEN HEEBIE JEEBIES TOO?! I remember seeing that show and being weirded out!!!!!!!!!!!! Did I tell you about it over the phone afterwards when I was gushing like crazy about our pal Mr. Esparza?

    This is a good list. I’m not sure if I can do one without getting all OCD about it…we shall see. Hey, guess what – The Lion King plays permanently here in Hamburg, in German!! We thought an English/Swahili play was unusual…

Leave a Reply

