whoa, wait, i have a blog?

So I haven’t posted in over a week. Sorry. Class and work keep a girl busy, plus I have the added excuse this week of food poisoning (which kept me out of commission for a couple of days and was less than pleasant). And, truthfully, I don’t have a whole lot of things to say…but I’d better switch topics before this ends up being a “this is why I haven’t been posting” post.

I had the great opportunity on Monday night to interview my friend Erica for two hours about her childhood–it’s all been recorded and I’m working on transcribing it, although this might take a while since it’s already taken me about three hours to get through the first forty minutes or so. There’s something almost intimate about getting to sit down with someone and get them to open up part of his or her life to you, especially someone who’s a friend but one that you don’t know all that well. I highly recommend it, especially with a friend who’s a good talker. I’ll bet you find out some things you never heard before. (I have a good story about Erica involving beer cans, but I’ll save that one.)

There, that’s your assignment for the week. Try it out.

I’ve also been learning a lot about my own conversational habits while listening to the recording–namely, I say stuff like “nice” a lot, I use “like” as a verbal tic more often than I’m proud of, and I sound like a dude on tape. Also, I’m acutely afflicted with what the French call espirit d’escalier, which is when you come up with a witty remark too late for it to be of any use. Happens to me all the time, alas. Hopefully I can get over that.

What else–oh, I got to go to Waco for an engagement for my friend Ashley and her fiance Sam (or, as we are apparently putting it, her “finance”). Saw some old friends, met some new people, worked out some logistical stuff (I’m singing in the wedding and she’s put me in charge of the music). So now I’ve got to figure out what to sing and, more importantly, what to wear. 😉 But at least I have a while to figure this out…

I guess that’s all I have. Next week is going to be somewhat insane, classwork-wise, so you might not hear from me again for a while. Keep it real, folks.

Actually, let me leave you with this, because I’ve kind of fallen in love with this song:

whoa, wait, i have a blog?

2 thoughts on “whoa, wait, i have a blog?

  1. Food poisoning was pretty much the worst sickness I have ever been through. I had some bad chicken back home during the teen years. You think when you throw up you will feel better. Nope. Horrible, constant stomach pain…….Wait, now I am opening up about my childhood. I better stop, cause I could go on……

  2. Yeah, beercans 🙂

    That video was exciting, cause at some point I knew exactly where they were in Paris!!! Cause every time I stay in Paris I pick bad parts of town and they were near all of my places.

    I was very very excited a minute ago and it’s Sunday morning and really quiet in general, so it was funny.

    Sorry about the food poisoning.

Leave a Reply

