here’s to my dad.

Here’s to my dad: Fixer of electronic things, griller of steaks, lender of money. Married my mom when he was 21. Been with the same company almost 40 years, including that break he took to teach at my high school, where every guy in his classes developed a serious man-crush on him (ha!). Unembarrassed about his love for all things Disney (and he’s a dyed-in-the-wool Southern Baptist, everyone). Predicted a complete switch to wireless telephone systems in the early ’80s. 🙂 Hates writing, and is boggled that one of his children got an English major, but oh well. Lifelong Aggie, I’m sorry to say. Has a decent baritone.

You know, the older I get, the more I realize that my dad is a good man. Not a perfect man, mind you, but a good man. Faithful to his wife, protector and provider for his children, hard and consistent worker, loyal member of his church and of the Church. So I raise my glass (full of Diet Coke, of course) to you, Dad. Happy Father’s Day.

Leave a Reply

