a few miscellaneous thoughts posted whilst listening to U2 b-sides

1. I sent an e-mail to the agency that did my adoption about 20 minutes ago. This feels kind of bizarre, to tell you the truth. I tried one adoption agency a few years back and they pointed me to this one, and I’ve just now gotten up the nerve to do it, I guess. The funny thing about being adopted, at least for me, is that in the back of my mind I’ve always wondered where I come from, what kind of people got pregnant with me 24 years ago and decided that someone else needed to raise me. Do they like to sing? Are they prone to fits of melancholy? Are they just as caffeinated and opinionated and neurotic as me? Or did I turn out nothing like them? Is it nature or is it nurture, or some strange combination of both, that made me who I am?

Don’t get me wrong, folks. I love my family. My parents and brother and all are great folks. I mean, they’re the ones who have loved and provided for and taught and protected me for the past 24 years, and told me about Jesus, and I wouldn’t trade them for anyone or anything in the world. But curiosity gets the better of me sometimes. It might kill this cat, but then again it might just make my family bigger. I’ll keep you posted.

2. Dear God: I would like to be able to one day write like Jeff Tweedy’s 13-year-old kid. Also, speaking of Jeff Tweedy, thank You for Wilco. Their new album sounds terrific. Thanks for making sound waves so they could vibrate that beautifully. That is all. Amen.

3. I will likely be coming home for the 4th (and 5th) of July, so any H-town people who happen to be reading, I will see you, hopefully. 🙂

4. Finally, I stuck my big list of stuff I want to do before I die up there on the top right corner. A few more things have been crossed out, although I haven’t necessarily posted about them (sorry). #32 got done last weekend–I sang in my friend Ashley’s wedding up in Waco. Amazing and wonderful, although no pics to speak of yet, sorry. Again, kind of bizarre–like marrying off a younger sister. She and her husband (!) are moving to NYC in the fall so she can go get her doctorate and be smart. Besides seeing them get married, I got to see some old friends before we all scatter to the four winds, so that was nice. Love is all around. Good to be reminded.

Leave a Reply

