thursday 13

It’s back! Crazy, right? 🙂 Anyway, this go around: 13 bands that you feel like you should like, but you just can’t get into (and I fully expect people to yell at me for a couple of these):

1. The Eagles.
2. Bright Eyes.
3. REM.
4. Smashing Pumpkins (although I like Zwan, so this is weird).
5. Arctic Monkeys.
6. Snow Patrol (with the exception of that song “Chasing Cars”).
7. She and Him (*that Zooey Deschanel/M. Ward collaboration. I just can’t do it).
8. Pink Floyd. I mean, I fully recognize that they’re iconic and they’re great musicians making very deft music, I just can’t get into them. Granted, I haven’t heard very much of their music, but what I’ve heard has just kind of struck me as “meh”.
9. Elvis Costello. See above.
10. Belle and Sebastian.
11. Bloc Party.
12. Pedro the Lion. I mean, I like a couple of his songs, but overall he sort of underwhelms me.
13.

9 thoughts on “thursday 13

  1. You are hopelessly wrong on 3, 8, and 9.

    You’re absolutely right on Belle and Sebastian. Pretentious tosh from start to finish–even though i do kinda like “If You’re Feeling Sinister.”

    As for She and Him: you know what? I would listen to Zooey Deschanel sing the alphabet song for days on end, as long as she let me stare deep into her blue, blue eyes…

    uh.. what was i talking about? hm.

  2. PINK FLOYD AND THE EAGLES. WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU, WOMAN? Oh, sorry.. Was I yelling. YES I WAS YELLING!

    Prepare to be inundated next time you come to visit. IT’S ON!

  3. I’m kinda with you on Smashing Pumpkins. Snow Patrol I love a few songs by, but they’re quite underwhelming to see live (take a listen to “The Lightning Strike” some time, you may like it). Belle & Sebastian has made one album I loved (The Life Pursuit) and one that bored me (Tigermilk), so let’s say they’re hit-or-miss at best.
    You’re going to give me flak for a few of these.

    1. Radiohead (I own 4 of their albums and thus far fail to see what’s so great about them, with the exception of their last one, In Rainbows)
    2. Bob Dylan
    3. Bright Eyes
    4. Oasis (“Wonderwall” is great though)
    5. Bruce Springsteen
    6. The Decemberists
    7. Wilco
    8. The White Stripes
    9. Jack Johnson
    10. Broken Social Scene
    11. Blue October
    12. Gavin DeGraw
    13. Third Day

    • WIlco? Wow. At least two of the six discs in my car are always Wilco. I love them. That just makes me sad! I love Dylan too, but lots of people don’t like him, and I totally agree with you on Bright Eyes, I never got the allure.

      I don’t know how many I can come up with, but I’m making a list.

  4. 1. Smashing Pumpkins (Agreed on this one, they’re just weird)
    2. Red Hot Chili Peppers
    3. Bright Eyes
    4. Elvis Presley (The only song of his I really like is Jail House Rock.)
    5. This isn’t really a band, but all those weird mash-ups that everyone loves. There are two that I like, the rest are just “meh”
    6. Jack Johnson (The first time I liked a Jack Johnson song was yesterday, and it was played by a wedding band.)
    7. Lady Gaga.
    8. Pat Green
    9. The Frames (I like a few of their songs A LOT, and the idea of them, but in practice, and as a whole, they’re underwhelming.)
    10. Uncle Tupelo (As someone who’s favorite band is Wilco, I feel like I’m betraying something inside of me by not liking them, but I don’t)
    11. Grease. I love Musicals, but I can’t get into it, and that’s the only one that most people have seen.

  5. @dave & @steph: Like I said, I haven’t really been exposed to much of the Eagles or Pink Floyd or Mr. Costello. I’ve not been exhilarated by what I’ve heard, but I’m willing to be educated further. 🙂

    @jonathan: The thing about Wilco is that it took me listening to Yankee Hotel Foxtrot about 15 times before I finally got them. And I can understand how someone wouldn’t like The Decemberists–Colin Meloy’s voice really isn’t for everyone, nor their lit-rock tendencies.

    Everyone’s entitled to their own tastes. And that’s okay!

Leave a Reply

