why i am a librarian (or at least studying to be one)

Because I am a giant nerd to begin with.

Because I have a BA in English, I don’t want to teach, I don’t want to do research, I don’t want to work in publishing, I don’t want to write (at least not full-time), and I also don’t want to work at Starbucks the rest of my life. (No offense to those people that do, of course, but it just doesn’t suit me.)

Because I’m interested in (though not good at) everything.

Because I like to tweet about what I’m reading.

Because I really do like to alphabetize things.

Because I’m single, I live by myself, I read a lot, I knit, I memorize world capitols and read Shakespeare for fun, I wear glasses, and I like cardigans and Mary Janes. It was inevitable. This is also the reason I don’t and will never own a cat.

Because illiteracy sucks, and failure to use the literacy you do have sucks even more, and 25% of Americans didn’t even read one book this year.

Because LIBRARIES HAVE MORE THAN JUST BOOKS IN THEM. There are CDs and movies and magazines and stuff in there. And you can use them for free.

Because I believe in intellectual freedom, copyright law reform, the future of our country in a globalized society, self-education, the printed word, and community and neighborhoods.

Because I like helping people discover new things, new authors, new books, new worlds.

Because I like helping people, period.

Because our God is a God of order, not of chaos.

Because if you make a good library for people to use, it will be for the good of the city, especially in times of economic crisis. And as exiles in a fallen world, we’re meant to help redeem the culture. So show your local librarians some love. And pray for me, too.

3 thoughts on “why i am a librarian (or at least studying to be one)

  1. I recently discovered this blog and I have to tell you that I really enjoyed this post. I teach high school English and whenever I take my students to the library to choose a new book, I’m blown away by how many amazing choices there are. I love the sense of peace that I feel in the library, and I love how easy it is to find the book I am looking for (as opposed to my personal library which seems to be in boxes half the time since it feels like I am always moving).

    Keep on spreading your love of libraries 🙂

  2. Hey, oatmealandobsidian, glad to have you here! Pull up a chair. There’s pie and coffee in the back if you want some. (Not really, but if you were at my actual living room, there might be.)

Leave a Reply

