[insert guitar riff here]

1. Well, I certainly left y’all on a happy note for a few days, didn’t I? Sorry…I promise, I’m not really that mopey these days, but that stuff is going on and it sort of hit me all at once and out came that post.

2. Recommended: Rain boots (seriously, when I wear mine I feel like I can take over the world or jump in puddles like a small child), Daytrotter.com (SO GOOD), the B&N Meet the Writers podcast (extremely interesting, and they did an interview with Mario Lopez, of all people), making scones (very satisfying, especially since they’re really easy and make a good breakfast if you’re in a hurry), and this obscure TV show called Lost on ABC (which I am scrambling to catch up with–no spoilers, or my boots and I will be coming to kick your butt).

3. Not a whole lot else going on–I have a giant stack of reading I should be doing (some of it’s extracurricular, but still) and I’m learning PHP (which is kind of terrifying), and watching a lot of episodes of Lost on DVD. Some stuff fermenting in my brain that will show up here eventually, I promise. And the requisite cleaning my apartment, sleeping, and consuming lots of hot beverages. I’m working in my church’s nursery for the first time this Sunday (with the babies–very excited). Something about a football game that afternoon, too (WHO DAT?). Should be fun.

4. Reader survey, since we haven’t done one in a while:
a) What are you reading these days? (I know I ask that a lot, but I feel like it’s my job.)
b) What was the first album you bought this year?
c) Where was the last new place you discovered in your city?
d) What’s something you’re looking forward to?
e) What was the last thing you cooked?
f) What do you spend your Saturday mornings doing?

8 thoughts on “[insert guitar riff here]

  1. a) What are you reading these days? (I know I ask that a lot, but I feel like it’s my job.)
    b) What was the first album you bought this year?
    c) Where was the last new place you discovered in your city?
    d) What’s something you’re looking forward to?
    e) What was the last thing you cooked?
    f) What do you spend your Saturday mornings doing?

    a) lots about British politics, hopefully the thesis madness will end soon.
    b) Monsters of Folk
    c) a Chinese place across 35 from campus
    d) graduating, spring break, sleeping in on Saturday
    e) shrimp and corn chowder
    f) sleeping and laundry and actually cooking for breakfast (at noon)

  2. Erica: I always saw that Chinese place, but never went. How is it? And how’s the Monsters album? Also, you are forgiven for leaving the questions. 🙂

    Ashley: I heart the East Village. I stayed in a hostel there the last time I was in NYC. And double fudge muffins?!

  3. a) Master Your Metabolism, by Jillian; a book about purity; a book about evangelism; five commentaries on Romans; and a run of Superman comics called “Secret Origin.”
    b) I don’t think I’ve bought any albums yet, though I have “I and Love and You” in my sights.
    c)Good question. Not sure. I’ve been sticking to my usual haunts lately.
    d) Half marathon in 8 days.
    e) a DiGiorno pizza my buddy brought over. pepperoni and bubbly cheese.
    f) debating for about an hour whether or not i want to go to the park and run, and then finally giving in and going.

  4. a) Slaughterhouse-Five, Kurt Vonnegut
    b) I don’t buy albums. I Pandora.
    c) I found out about this place that has free fencing lessons on Friday night.
    d) Free fencing lessons when I find time to go. Also, warm weather.
    e) Asparagus and radish stir-fry with Japanese sesame sauce.
    f) The last two Saturdays I spent fixing my car with my dad. Typically I spend Saturday mornings craving waffles.

  5. a) Lots about orality and literacy (bleh), organized crime (scary), and re-reading old favorites as comfort reading.
    b) I buy maybe 2 cds/year, so nothing so far.
    c) The World Market next door to the dinky Target.
    d) The day when I can go to the grocery store and not have to scrape my car just to drive home.
    e) A very 1950s casserole.
    f) Figure skating 🙂

  6. The Chinese place has great curry, which was what I try everywhere hoping it’s like some I had this one time… 🙂

    The album is amazing! I love it and would recommend it. Very folksy…(clearly)

Leave a Reply

