a few things.

seen: How to Train Your Dragon (in 3D! it is amazing; I totally recommend it. by the way, i want a dragon now). A PBS series called Spain: On the Road Again, in which Mario Batali and Gwyneth Paltrow and two of their friends (the NYT columnist Mark Bittman and Spanish actress Claudia Bassols) drive across Spain in Mercedes-Benzes and are cute and eat really good-looking food and generally make me want to hang out with them (and go to Spain, of course). Just got a DVD of the last performance of Rent (!!!) from Netflix; got Syriana and Defiance from the library. Looking forward to all of those.

listened: Still Trouble. And Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots. And podcasts.

done: Just today, I have more or less finished a project (last one for the semester), finished a book (for the first time in a while, and it was glorious), applied to some jobs, fixed my iPhone, eaten a really good sandwich at a restaurant in my ‘hood. About to go grocery shopping and then watch what promises to be an epic episode of LOST (only two more episodes after tonight! ack! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ). Might sneak in some laundry as well.

oh, and one more number: 97, which is the number of days until UT kicks me out and I have to go find a real job (ack!).

8 thoughts on “a few things.

  1. Erica says:

    I love the Spain show. There’s a cute one when Chris Martin shows up and surprised Gwyneth Paltrow.

    Also, I saw Syriana. Let me know what you think ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. ack attack!

    Your life sounds pretty good right now. I still haven’t seen “Dragon” in 3D! I’m babysitting overnight this weekend, though, and I hear murmurings amongst the children that they may be interested…so if I have anything to say about it, we’ll be paying obscene amounts of money to see some 3D dragons! (And hear Craig Ferguson’s voice in its full Scottish glory!)

  3. Manders says:

    Erica: I think it was Michael Stipe, not Chris, although that would’ve been cute.

    Hannah: I love how 1) the Vikings are Scottish and 2) Hiccup is Canadian. Seriously: He says “aboat.” The actor who plays him is from Ottawa, so… Oh, and 3) all the other kids have American accents. I went to see it with a linguist friend of mine and we both sat there and deconstructed
    it. This is what grad school (and honors college, for that matter) does to you.

  4. I know! And while Jay Baruchel’s nasal Canadian voice is endearing, I keep wanting him to push that resonance FORWARD…but anyway. Back to linguistics! I also find those methods by which writers convey “other-ness” fascinating. Like how the characters on LOST this week started by speaking Latin, then moved back to their vaguely-theatre-standard accents! Or Arthur Miller’s cadences in The Crucible. I guess, though, that part of it for the Dragon folks is creating the sense of a sorta-Germanic fictional world by reserving the European accents (which are harder for American kids to understand) for the older characters, and then having the younger generation speak with an accent with which kids can identify (not to mention the greater availability of famous people whose voices you can populate your film with).

    I don’t think it’s grad school. I think it’s good clean geekery. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Steph says:

    I watched the latest LOST episode with a bunch of seminary guys, which was entertaining and educational. they spent a good couple of min’s debating what language they were speaking at the beginning. They landed on Greek. Then the rest of us made them rewind!

    Good times were had by all.

  6. hannah s, says:

    Thank you, Manders…I’m glad, as a person who’s taken both languages and felt confident that it was Latin, that I’m not crazy!

Leave a Reply

