“it worked.”

1. I’m in Houston, at my parents’ house. I came down on Sunday to watch Lost at Teacher Dave’s place (thanks again, dude) and hang out (like I did with Steph earlier). Heading back in the morning. Gonna go pack when I get done with this.

2. Okay, so, Lost–the thing is, I can see all the flaws with how they ended it, the weirdnesses and awkwardness of the narrative, and yet I don’t really care. I can’t explain why not; I’m not really sure why. But I think it turned the show into a statement on faith and spirituality, and why we need other people in that kind of endeavor. I obviously don’t agree with all of it, but it made a weird sort of sense to me in that I think I’d kind of been anticipating something like that. Call it a hunch. It feels sort of providential that it came around right about the time I am beginning to fall in love with the church, as I’m awakening to the understanding that I need other people and other people need me, to tell each other the Story.

3. That being said, I am also coming to the understanding that I am a person who naturally gets very excited by and drawn in by great stories, the ones that make me want to be a better person–and yet, I am not nearly as excited by the True Story, the one where the point is not making me a better person, but making much of the One who has. Asking that I may be consumed by that instead.

4. I may write something more substantial up about Lost. But for now, you get a survey:

a) What is the most important thing in your life right now?
b) What was the last thing you paid money for?
c) Where was the last place you drove to?
d) What was your favorite book as a kid?

One thought on ““it worked.”

  1. I thought the end of LOST was beautiful and fantastic, a perfect closure.

    Course, I also liked Jimmy Kimmel’s third alternate ending. I totally saw that coming, too, weeks ago.

    Survey…

    a) My family.

    b) I bought some Chinese food for lunch yesterday.

    c) I drove to the train station a couple hours ago so I could get to the office.

    d) “A Wrinkle in Time.”

Leave a Reply

