the end of all things

[originally posted on Twitter after a long bout with Tolkien]

And as it stands I dare not speak
For grim and glorious doom has come
To awaken this fell day with a red dawn
And the world’s end

Arise, my love, and go with me
To field where our great fathers trod
Take up thy blade and shield and helm
We go to face the growing storm

We dare not entertain despair
The darkness yet shall not prevail
For though we fall and fail we fight
Midst hope of glory yet unseen

And though the land flow red with life
That war and ill too early take
My heart shall never turn from thee
While breath and soul remain

Away, away, my feet, my hands
My heart, my mind, my warrior soul
If all must end I will not shrink
From duty, though it bring my death

Leave a Reply

