harrumph.

1. Hi.

2. I leave for Washington DC on Sunday in order to go start an internship at NPR. I’m still trying to get over the fact that I no longer have to go to class ever again unless some odd daemon of academia compels me to. This is a very odd transitional period in my life, but it feels rather good, actually. I would like, actually, to have a more permanent job, but I am unmarried and currently unattached, and I have become somewhat reconciled to the idea of embracing my gypsy soul for a while. It feels good. Sorry, though, that I haven’t had a lot to say here, lately; I’ve been vegging at my parents’ house in Houston, and thus haven’t been thinking about much deep or interesting, aside from packing. And maybe lunch. I do want to get back in the habit of writing for fun, though. I’ve been out of the loop for a while, and I don’t like it.

3. I like this becoming a full-fledged adult thing. I hate the prolonged adolescence our society encourages, and even though I have, in some sense, gone along with it, it feels good to break the mold a bit and become a woman. I do wish we had better formal rites of passage, though, like our ancestors did; it helps to be affirmed as an adult by your community, I think. But maybe that’s just me.

4. There’s a great blog out there called A Poetry Feed. The proprietor is a professor of English at a college in Minnesota, and he’s collecting poems and reading them out loud for us to hear. Excellent poems, excellent demonstration of why it’s a form of literature best heard and not read. He has a good reading voice, too, as do his guest readers (including two of his kids, I might add). If, like me, you like good poetry, I recommend it.

5. I think too hard about things, y’all.

6. I miss Austin. And her people.

7. Bye, now.

harrumph.

Leave a Reply

