and love will not break your heart, but dismiss your fear…

1. It’s NaBloPoMo, which means I’m going to try to post here every day for the month of November. I already have some ideas lined up, but it’s going to take some doing to fill in the blanks. Which is fine–I feel like this year has been really light, posting-wise, so maybe I can drop some more content on here to make up for it? (Yeah, maybe not.) But it’s good to get back into writing and thinking instead of just zoning out at night like I usually do.

2. So let’s see–no, I did not go to the rally this weekend, since the NPR Powers That Be asked us not to go for the sake of keeping journalistic political neutrality (which makes sense), but also because giant crowd situations kind of make me nervous/claustrophobic. I don’t think I even left Arlington until about 5 PM, which is just as well since apparently it was mass chaos on the metro. But some friends who went said the rally itself was really good. We need some sanity on both sides in the American political dialogue, and I think maybe a lot of people feel the same way. But how to get there when we don’t really have the same philosophical foundations anymore? I don’t mean that we need to “get back to being a Christian nation”–I believe in a plurality of ideas, and a religiously-neutral government is good for everyone–but rather that a lot of the Judeo-Christian and classical ideas that influenced this country’s founders should maybe be something we’re more familiar with as a society. (Of course the Scriptures were heavily in mind. But so was John Locke, and Aristotle, and the Renaissance thinkers, and the Magna Carta, and so on and so forth.)

Okay, political rant over!

3. I’m going to bring back Mix Tape Monday soon, I promise. For some reason ever since I’ve been in DC, I’ve just not been up to it, but it’ll be back. Probably next week.

4. Currents: In the middle of my annual re-read of Prayer and the Art of Volkswagen Maintenance and still pushing through Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. Listening to a lot of podcasts these days, actually, and especially stuff like The Moth and sermons from church back home. Just saw an excellent ballet at work at the Kennedy Center this weekend. Curious about the BBC Sherlock Holmes reboot (but apparently PBS has it streaming online, and I might just watch it there) and especially intrigued by its lead actor, a fellow with the excellently British name Benedict Cumberbatch.

5. A few questions for you guys:

a) What’s the best thing you have going on right now?
b) What was the last good thing someone told you?
c) Who was your last conversation with, when, and what about?
d) So. Are you, or are you not, going to see the next Harry Potter movie when it comes out?
e) If you were a crayon, what color would you be?
f) What are you doing for Thanksgiving this year?

and love will not break your heart, but dismiss your fear…

6 thoughts on “and love will not break your heart, but dismiss your fear…

  1. Sara says:

    So now I’m curious – why did the NPR Powers that Be tell y’all to stay away? (I mean, I’m used to being told to not do things, but I thought y’all got more free will 🙂 )

    a) uh…new NCIS tomorrow night?
    b) that Christmas (and therefore Texas) is getting closer, slowly but surely
    c) my mother, this afternoon, the fact that I have a killer shin splints, but only on my left leg
    d) Yup. A bunch of kids from my program are all going to the midnight showing together.
    e) If I got to choose, aquamarine. If popular opinion got to choose, I dunno…burnt sienna?
    f) staying in C-bus with Ohio Church Mom(a transplanted Texan who has kindly adopted me)

    1. I added a little clause re: the rally up top, but NPR (and a bunch of other news organizations, for the record) asked their people not to go if they weren’t reporting for the sake of keeping up journalistic political neutrality. So, you know, there’s that.

      Owww, shin splints. :-/

      1. Sara says:

        Interesting. I certainly understand for the news writers/people who cover politics, but it kind of stinks that there seems to be pressure on folks in non-journalist positions to comply, as well. Perhaps I fail journalism ethics? 🙂

        Yeah, oww, shin splints. The worst part is that I can’t figure out what I did. I think my skate boot might be putting pressure in a strange place, but I am neither a doctor nor a skate tech, so all I can do is make stuff up…

        (I am paper-procrastinating. Please forgive all the commentary!)

  2. Honestly, I don’t get it, either, but they’re my leaders and I’ll respect what they say, of course. 🙂 And what else does this blog exist for but helping people procrastinate? 😉

  3. 1. Yes, do. I like your blog posts.
    2. I like something that [IIRC] Leann (@mabeswife) tweeted: “Happy End of Stupid Political Commercial Season Day!” But seriously, what I hope for is that the people who are elected today aren’t just politicians, but statesmen/women. People who put the good of the country ahead of the good of their re-election campaigns. I don’t even know if such people exist anymore.
    3. Yay! Mixtapes are awesome, in any form. You should do one of songs that bug you.
    4. Awesomeness all around, there.
    5.

    a) Knowing that God is faithful when I am faithless. Also, knowing that I am loved and cared for by people I love and care for.

    b) Our Milwaukee business trip is just over a week away!

    c) Coworkers coming back from lunch, about how my boss thinks all the women he talked to at the Diabetes Awareness Booth clearly wanted him, and how we are glad his self-confidence is healthy, even if his grasp of reality is suspect.

    d) Totally will see it, probably with coworkers on the day it releases.

    e) midnight blue. According to Crayola’s website, the personality traits associated with this color are “*cold* *calm* *relaxed* *loyal* *melancholy*”. Not sure about cold or calm, but the rest aren’t too far off. The color reminds me of a quiet, starry night, which is something that makes me calm.

    f) Participating in a 10K in the morning, then lunch/dinner and probably a movie with the family, followed by 4 a.m. Black Friday shopping with my mom and sisters (I’m the wheel-man).

  4. Erica says:

    a) I bought a lot of vegetables this week (I wish I could tag Sara) and I’m cooking them in new and interesting ways. I’m in law school, so I’ll take what I get on the best thing going for me front.
    b) That Christine O’Donnel lost, via CNN/Anderson Cooper.
    c) With my friend Danielle, at 4:30 (I know, because that’s when we get out of class), about how we’re so glad we didn’t get called on in class, because we talked the entire time we were supposed to be reading for said class.
    d) Yes!! I’ve found a fellow law student that wants to go.
    e) That awesome color that’s between purple and blue and on the darker side of things.
    f) I guilted my mother into letting me go home. I’m very excited. I would have missed our family tequila shot otherwise.

Leave a Reply

