random hits

1. I’m watching this thing on TV and they’re featuring an ice cream parlor that has a whipped cream tap/nozzle thing built into the counter. I could NEVER work at that place.

2. Actually, when I worked at Starbucks, we used to spray whipped cream into those little sample cups and eat them with a spoon. Sometimes there would be caramel sauce involved. Evil. Tasty, tasty evil. Of course, I lost five pounds after I quit.

3. Apologies for all the angsty posts this week, by the way. I’m okay now, though; in fact, I think I’m more okay than I’ve been in a while. God has pretty much been wrecking me the whole time I’ve been in DC, in the best possible way. Lots of stuff has been floating to the surface, but just as much has been settling deeper in. I have a lot to be grateful about regarding my time in DC, but if nothing else, the fact that I’ve gotten closer to God in the process has made it worth it.

4. Questions for y’all:

a) Where was the last place you traveled on an airplane?
b) What are your five favorite colors?
c) What’s something you’re going to do before the end of the year?
d) How do you like your coffee (assuming you drink it)?
e) What’s your favorite way to keep warm?
f) What’s your favorite poem (assuming you have one)?

5. Finally, you know what? I haven’t had Chick-Fil-A, Mexican food, or barbecue since I’ve been here. I think that’s the longest I’ve gone without any of that, ever. I even had tacos one day when I was in Scotland, believe it or not (they weren’t great, but they were tacos). Odd.

5 thoughts on “random hits

  1. go git yerself some Chick-Fil-A at GW or Howard! No one will care that you’re not a student. They’ll understand. http://www.chick-fil-a.com/restlocator/

    a) Houston, from DC via Charlotte.
    b) Canary yellow, eggplant, bright J. Crew green, blue-screen blue, and I guess whatever I’m feeling that day?
    c) Work a lotta holiday retail.
    d) With too much cream and sugar. :/ (Or as a tall skinny iced caramel macchiato!)
    e) Scarf! Or space heater!
    f) Different ones at different times…I actually don’t have one at the moment. But my Twitter handle and email address come from *a* favorite, Gerard Manley Hopkins’ “God’s Grandeur.” I think of it often. http://www.bartleby.com/122/7.html

  2. a) To my parents’ house in Sept.
    b) Purple and red. Not together.
    c) Take law school exams (this is an eventuality, passing is a hope).
    d) Hazelnut cream
    e) I sleep with a heating pad!
    f) I’ll have to get back to you on this…at school.

    Also, I have a list of things I need to eat when I’m back in Texas because it’s been soooo long.

  3. a) Columbus, OH
    b) violet, cornflower blue, bright pink, turquoise, aquamarine
    c) Go home and see the fam for the first time in a year
    d) lots of milk and sugar/honey
    e) curling up into a little ball under all of my covers and contemplating dropping out of grad school and moving to Florida
    f) I’m fond of Pushkin’s Prorok (Prophet) (You might like Lermontov’s poem by the same title, as well) and Simonov’s Zhdi menya i ya vernus’ (Wait for me and I’ll return)

    Re: #5 – If you need some, there’s a nice place over by the Capitol South metro stop. It’s run by Aggies, I believe (but we’ll forgive them). H introduced me to it – it’s good.

  4. a) Houston, from Detroit, via Atlanta
    b) Orange, teal, British racing green, red, burgundy, azure
    c) write a new play
    d) I generally put one of each kind of artificial sweetener available; I usually only get the cheap-o coffee at work
    e) This sounds like a girly question for some reason.
    f) It’s hard for me to pick favorites when it comes to anything artistic. You’ll usually end up with a list of five or six at the minimum.

Leave a Reply

