on home.

Here’s something:

I’ve been wandering a while from place to place. And I’ve had some good experiences and made some good friends in the process.

But I’m getting to the place where I am longing for a place to put down roots, to establish myself in a community of flesh-and-blood people, and not just e-mails and texts and phone calls. I’ve come to the realization that there are some things I need to do in order to heal and grow, and those things need to happen long-term.

It may be my lot to keep wandering for a while longer. I have long felt slightly unsettled here in the world. But my heart would like some foundations, some shelter, a place to call home, and not even Texas feels like that for me anymore. (Do I have people that I dearly love there? Absolutely. But there are a lot of ghosts for me there as well.)

I do know this, though: That wherever I go, and wherever I may be, Jesus has come and made His home with me, and He is all the shelter this nomad truly needs. He will provide. And He will sustain me.

Leave a Reply

