ah, look at all the lonely people.

1. Ever since I got back to Texas, I’ve ended up going to sleep at ridiculous hours, like 2 in the morning, and then sleeping until about 11.

2. I’ve been having really vivid, bizarre dreams, too, like the one I had the other night where I was in Waco with three sisters I know; we were at this coffee shop I went to a lot in college and then something happened where I had to start shooting at something (that was a little unclear). Odd.

3. I am coming to terms with the fact that I may be more about ideas than actually doing anything about them. This is a problem. I mean, I have all these wonderful thoughts about things, but then what the heck do I do with them? Being one step removed from reality is easy; it’s more difficult for me to actually dig in and get outside my own head and turn abstractions into tangibles. I can come up with a whole bunch of reasons why this is, but no matter what the explanation is, it’s still kind of an unhealthy way of dealing with the world.

4. There was a TED talk put up recently about how if you want to get goals done, don’t talk to people about them. Seriously. I mean, that seems kind of counterintuitive, but there’s something about telling people that fills in some of the satisfaction of actually accomplishing the thing itself, and so you don’t have as much motivation to get there. Or, you feel like you have the pressure on you to get it done, and then it makes you not want to do it. And, you know, when it comes to certain things I’ve done, I’ve found that to be the case. Odd.

Leave a Reply

