thursday 13

This week: 13 things you’ve ever done on your birthday.

1. I had a birthday party in Willowbrook Mall when I turned 11–we went to go see a movie in the theater that used to be in it, and I had a cookie cake, if I recall correctly.
2. 14th birthday was at a local restaurant and a bunch of friends came. There were edible candy bubbles involved.
3. My 21st birthday also happened to be the wedding day of my friend Cindy, so that happened. Afterwards Steph and I went to her house and had sparkling cider [this was clearly before we’d both gone Presbyterian].
4. I don’t remember exactly what I did on my 18th birthday, but I remember the day after my dad and I went to our storage shed and looked at some stuff to clear out of there. Long story, but it was an interesting day.
5. My 22nd birthday was spent holed up in my apartment because it was below freezing outside [the hazards of being born in the middle of January in the northern hemisphere], but some people came by for a party and we had homemade marshmallows and watched the Golden Globes, which was fun. A couple of my classmates from the English department gave me a voodoo doll, which I still think is hilarious.

[This is seriously kind of hard because I don’t really do birthdays. Not sure why, but I’m going to fix this. I can definitely remember what I did on *other* people’s birthdays, but not mine.]

6. 23rd birthday, I think my grandparents took me out to dinner at PF Chang’s.
7. 25th birthday – my dad came up to Austin and took me out to dinner. I think I spent the day writing. And I had something from Amy’s Ice Cream, and I got some flowers from one of my old college roommates.
8. 20th birthday – I think we went out to dinner or something, but I definitely remember that my roommate and suitemates and I went to go see Win a Date With Tad Hamilton.
9. 5th birthday – I have no earthly idea why I remember this, but it was at McDonald’s. My memories of it are dominated by the color orange.
10. 24th birthday – I remember sitting at our dining room table across from my roommate while she graded papers and I watched Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead that evening. There may have been drinks involved, but I don’t remember. [Madalyn?]
11. I have very, very vague memories of my 2nd birthday. There was cake and other kids, and that’s all I remember.
12. …seriously, you guys, I have no idea.
13. Tomorrow, I think I’m going to get a haircut, I’m going to brace myself for the annual birthday-related Facebook wall posts, and I know I’m going to dinner with a couple of buddies. And I’m going to put some stuff in the mail. Goodness, I don’t know if I can handle the excitement.

4 thoughts on “thursday 13

  1. ashless says:

    I also have fond memories of #22. A bunch of us making food and watching the Golden Globes and laughing at your voodoo doll, and I think someone did homework. Wasn’t me or you! 😉

Leave a Reply

